We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this restaurant”

Mother's Bistro & Bar
Ranked #9 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Willamette Week's "restaurant of the year," Mother's serves comfort food classics made from scratch, perfected in the hands of four star restaurant-trained chef Lisa Schroeder. With melt-in-your-mouth biscuits, pot roast, chicken & dumplings and a decadent, different macaroni & cheese daily, home cooking is elevated to high art for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Full Bar & happy hour too!
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Love this restaurant”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Love going here for breakfast. The food is really good, service friendly, and ambience warm and cozy. Crunchy French Toast-yum. We had a special egg frittata and it was delicious.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Travelgirl0607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,302 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,473
    612
    163
    39
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
79 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great service, great food, big portions”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

We went to Mothers for dinner Saturday evening. We had called ahead for reservations so had no problem getting seated. Really great, attentive service and excellent food at a reasonable price.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rking1118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seattle wa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“WOW, Great Breakfast, Service & Bloody Mary's”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Another true fine, had Sunday breakfast & was a popular place, thankfully we had reservations....we were a party of six. We were sat wihthin minutes and had coffee very quickly, servicce was fantastic, had a great waitress, explained the menu very well and answered all our questions, fantastic food and the best Bloody Mary I have ever had...PERIOD-Hands Down, will be back!!!!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank bigjohn1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
122 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Outstanding lunch”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Got a parking out front on a wednesday afternoon and walked in to a half full diningroom. Excellent service and a delicious sandwich. I had the shrimp on brioche and my friend had the roast pork and we split them. Not the best fries ever but ok. Good coffee - lovely room - good lunch

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sabcfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lived up to its reputation.”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

So I called on Thursday for a brunch reservation on Sunday, and all that was available was 8:00 am. Frustrating but a good sign. We arrived in Portland Friday night late, and thought we would check it out for dinner as it was close to our hotel. When we arrived at 9:00 pm they asked if we had a reservation (no) and offered to seat us in the bar, after a minimum of pleading they found a great table in the restaurant. The rest of the night was very memorable. One of our traveling companions has gluten and dairy allergies and the staff was great at guiding her through the menu. We had the white sangria muddled with peaches ( great! ) a fantastic Malbec, possibly one of the best crab cakes on the west coast ( small ) and great comfort food entrees ( meatloaf and chicken & dumplings were the two standouts.) And then because we were on vacation, the chocolate fudge layer cake.. Incredible. We did not keep the Sunday 8:00 am reservation (who was I kidding we would get up that early) but it is on our list for the next trip back to Portland... I will call earlier next time.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TonyB8258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing