We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best breakfast in Portland”

Mother's Bistro & Bar
Ranked #10 of 4,341 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Willamette Week's "restaurant of the year," Mother's serves comfort food classics made from scratch, perfected in the hands of four star restaurant-trained chef Lisa Schroeder. With melt-in-your-mouth biscuits, pot roast, chicken & dumplings and a decadent, different macaroni & cheese daily, home cooking is elevated to high art for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Full Bar & happy hour too!
Queretaro, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in Portland”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Well worth the trip! Whatever their omelet special of the day is - get it! Amazing! My husband had the french toast, and I practically had to beg for a bite. It was delicious. Great coffee here too!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jodi T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,414 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,553
    633
    171
    42
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“So glad I went to Mother's on my trip to Portland - best breakfast!!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Our server was polite, friendly and adorable. My omelet was outstanding. Potatoes were well cooked and spiced perfectly. I only wish I had a bigger stomach so I could have finished every last bite! A must-visit for travelers or residents. I loved Mother's!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank soveryblessed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawsonville, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“The only place we are willing to wait in line!”
Reviewed May 18, 2013 via mobile

Went thru Portland to go have breakfast at Mothers. There were people literally hangin out the doors but they do a great job of getting people thru without making one feel rushed. Our server was wonderful and the food was terrific and plentiful. I had Migas which I miss from Texas and husband had Apple Pork Sausage Scramble. None left on his plate either. Just be prepared to wait and be shoulder to shoulder with the rest of the world. Neat place!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mimi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
508 reviews
321 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Dinner not as good as Breakfast”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

This was our first time here for dinner. Have been here several times for breakfast and it really is one of the very best places to get breakfast in Portland. Our server was great; a tad slow on our drink order (two of us ordered Margaritas, not the spicy one, but the ones we were served were too spicy for both of us), but not bad; food came in a timely manner.

A note to those having any difficulty walking need to consider that the tables/'seating is fairly tight. Our elderly mother really needs to be on someone's arm and it was very difficult to do. There is paidparking directly across the street so that is good.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank C B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Salmon hash is a MUST!”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We ate here on our last morning in Portland and what a way to go out! The salmon hash is perfection. I almost never want to have salmon again, because I want to remember the taste of this hash forever. The service was top notch. I will tell everyone visiting Portland to put this restaurant at the top of their breakfast itinerary....along with Voodoo Doughnuts of course.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnonymousBean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing