We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Frequent and loyal Mother's brunch addict!”

Mother's Bistro & Bar
Ranked #8 of 4,270 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: International, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Willamette Week's "restaurant of the year," Mother's serves comfort food classics made from scratch, perfected in the hands of four star restaurant-trained chef Lisa Schroeder. With melt-in-your-mouth biscuits, pot roast, chicken & dumplings and a decadent, different macaroni & cheese daily, home cooking is elevated to high art for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Full Bar & happy hour too!
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Frequent and loyal Mother's brunch addict!”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Yes, It's crowded and noisy and perhaps even a bit played out in the PDX bruch scene but it's MOTHER'S man and it is wonderful. I have ordered perhaps every menu item for breakfast except the bowl of fruit and have never had a complaint. At times the service can be slow but they are a very busy venue so it's understandable. I love this place and highly recommend it for breakfast. I cannot comment on dinner at Mother's because I have never visited the restaurant past 11AM but I imagine it is just as good as their morning offerings.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Squishthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,439
    595
    161
    38
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NJ
Level Contributor
210 reviews
127 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Mother's had so many choices I had a hard time ordering. All the classics and some nice Mexican choices and other options.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Morog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfort Food at it's Best!”
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great comfort food of mac and cheese, meat loaf, chick and dumplings...better than your average. Decor is homey with comfy couches. Staff is wonderful. Highly recommend the traditional mac and cheese.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Colleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Worth the wait”
Reviewed January 20, 2013 via mobile

Great food and atmosphere, the food is just so great as well. Wish they had a larger location. Be prepared to wait 45 minutes to an hour to be seated. But everyone is super nice.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ISBIG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
518 reviews
306 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 692 helpful votes
“Still consistently good!”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

When I lived in Portland, I'd make Mother's a work-week breakfast stop. I've been gone for seven years now, and when I was visiting family/friends for New Years, I made a breakfast stop and was pleased to see that they haven't changed much (except for higher prices).
This review is only for breakfast, but I've been told their lunch an dinner menu is excellent.

The vibe is homey and welcoming. The food is like mom’s cooking, only a better.

My favorite breakfast choice is their Migas. Thankfully, they still had it on their menu: eggs, corn tortillas, jack cheese, onions & peppers, scrambled together,
topped with chipotle sour cream, salsa & green onions. The corn tortilla seemed soggy this time, but the flavor is still to die for. Great coffee, too.

So stop by for a great meal. They "make everything from scratch, using the best possible ingredients Pacific Northwest wild salmon, Carlton Farms pork, Painted Hills beef and the finest European-style butter in everything we cook and bake."

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing