We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Off the beaten track but not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mother's Bistro & Bar

Mother's Bistro & Bar
Ranked #8 of 4,061 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Willamette Week's "restaurant of the year," Mother's serves comfort food classics made from scratch, perfected in the hands of four star restaurant-trained chef Lisa Schroeder. With melt-in-your-mouth biscuits, pot roast, chicken & dumplings and a decadent, different macaroni & cheese daily, home cooking is elevated to high art for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Full Bar & happy hour too!
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
105 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track but not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

A friend recommended Mother's and I owe her one! Today's lunch was excellent. I had the trout special, my guest (a real foodie) had soup and salad. The atmosphere is upbeat and offbeat. Picture fancy light fixtures, framed mirrors, high ceilings in a working class part of the SW attracting the young who want a dining experience that's not pricey. When the check came, complimentary cookies did too. What's not to like??

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nancyvictoria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,799 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,131
    488
    140
    31
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
PNW
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Really great (and unique) breakfast offerings”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

In a town known as a breakfast haven, you will find this placve to be one of teh best, yet expect a wait as is known for it's delicious breakfast!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank turnersrock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pewsey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“No place like Mother's”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

This was probably the highlight of our stay. The surroundings are warm and cosy. Many chandeliers, mirrors and pictures of women with babies, just the right amount.

We had a cocktail to start served by a delightful waiter. We were invited to take our time looking at the menu. They have a great theme , Mother of the Month recipe, they invite you to nominate yourself or someone you know to put a dish on. I love this idea. I chose trout with orzo and spinach. The trout was covered in hazel nuts ( nuts are in season) and grilled, the spinach was fresh and just cooked perfectly. I had a glass of pinot grigio from Oregon, light and refreshing. We had no room for their amazing pudding.

The waiter, Shane Patrick, was a great young man who was very knowledgeable about his work.

We decided to come back next day for brunch. It was heaving people queuing up and ready to wait 1/2 hour for a table. We were lucky, we found a first come first served seating area at the counter and indulged for the last time in poached eggs, ham and biscuits. And large pot coffee. The biscuits are like scones only lighter and yummy.

This is a really great place and I love the concept, not too over powering in the mother stakes. Just as we say in psychotherapy 'Good enough'

Highly recommend. Book to secure a place.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank philomenap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bend, Oregon
Level Contributor
131 reviews
112 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Go for happy hour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Mother's Bistro is a good restaurant for any occasion, especially for breakfast on the weekends. But my favorite is happy hour in the bar. Great food, drinks and prices. But get there early as it is always crowded.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank rfp36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paradise Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
157 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Simply..Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Once in a while you find the perfect restaurant. Mother's fits that category. We enjoyed a splendid Breakfast. Eggs Benedict,perfection, biscuits and gravy,gourmet, french toast that spoils all other versions.
We were a party of 9,without exception each of us enjoyed their respective dish. No complaints ,only raves.
The server was outstanding,appreciating that we had a 2 year old,with limited attention span.he severed all the dishes with dispatch.
We cannot wait to return for diner. Bravo...

Helpful?
Thank Jefftimb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing