We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommend” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mother's Bistro & Bar

Mother's Bistro & Bar
Ranked #8 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $21
Cuisines: International, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Neighborhood: Downtown
Description: Willamette Week's "restaurant of the year," Mother's serves comfort food classics made from scratch, perfected in the hands of four star restaurant-trained chef Lisa Schroeder. With melt-in-your-mouth biscuits, pot roast, chicken & dumplings and a decadent, different macaroni & cheese daily, home cooking is elevated to high art for breakfast, lunch & dinner. Full Bar & happy hour too!
Chicago
Level Contributor
77 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

We went here for breakfast and had the most amazing scrambled eggs with roasted corn, avocado and bacon.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChgoFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,181 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,390
    586
    155
    38
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Federal Way, Washington
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Eclectic and Tasty”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Even though you will most likely wait for a table, it is worth it. The host staff is friendly and very efficient. They know their tables/turns and you can count on the wait time quoted to be accurate. The menu is varied and eclectic. There will be something on it for everyone. French press coffee and mimosas were the perfect start our meal but you may want to try any number of other options available. The eggs benedict... spot on, migas... super tasty, pesto egg scamble... really great, crab cake sandwich with fries... yum! It is busy and loud but the atmosphere is warm and the service was wonderful. Give this place a try. You won't regret it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shannan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“just good food.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

Comfort food gets a good name by deeply satisfying food in an upscale ambiance where it is easy to have a good time Consistently reliable.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Mother's Is Special”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2012

On a recent trip to Portland, we ate breakfast at Mother's on Sunday morning. Fortunately we gat there about 8 AM and by the time we left the line was out the door. Great food, great service and great fun! The crab benedict was outstanding and the service was special. We sat between two delightful couples, one celebrating a birthday, the other an anniversary. Both received special treats from our waitress. Served very promptly, but not rushed. Excellent coffee in a coffee town. It's an easy walk from downtown hotels.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DenverJack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Linn, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mother's Bistro - Portland's Kitchen”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2012

I love everything about Mother's from the incredible chef, Lisa, the personable co-owner Rob and every single waiter and staff person there. I was at the preview prior to the opening back in the day and have NEVER had a bad meal there. I always take out of town or new people there to experience the food and the special atmosphere, including the lively outdoor crowd in the street. You never know who is hanging out in front of the restaurant. One day I met a man who took his cat with him on a leash like a dog. I don't have a favorite dish because everything is so good.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mother's Bistro & Bar also viewed

 

Been to Mother's Bistro & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing