We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Salty's Father's Day Brunch”

Salty's On The Columbia River
Reserve with OpenTable
Salty's On The Columbia River is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Transit: Airport, James Gleason Boat Ramp
Description: The best seafood and steak restaurant in Portland isn't downtown, it's on the Columbia River.
North Las Vegas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Salty's Father's Day Brunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Our family went to Salty's to celebrate Father's Day as well as our 22nd Wedding Anniversary. It was very, very nice with a view of the river (when reserving, make sure this is a request for seating). We wouldn't hesitate bringing a WELL-BEHAVED child into this renowned waterfront restaurant. When we walked in, there was a beautiful chocolate fountain, with everything a kid (and the "kid" in us adults) would love, it was sooo sweet! Although spendy for our budget, at about $49/per person, it was worth it for the ambiance, the service, and the great food. Lots of fresh fish, king crab, you name it. Even chicken and waffles. Such a variety. A thumbs up on this one, for sure!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitchellgc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

851 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    273
    105
    45
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Portland, OR
Level Contributor
157 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful view, great food”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

Right on the Columbia, (one of the only ones on the Oregon side), with great food and a beautiful view, this is a great place to take your visitors. My friends and I went here on a day when the sun was shining and there was lots of river traffic. At the door there is a live tank filled with lobster and crab and there are always daily house specials of whatever is fresh. The atmosphere is very relaxed, with warm and friendly service, and we were lucky enough to get a riverside table. My friends opted for the salmon and all were pleased. I actually got the beef filet. It was served with a horseradish butter, was cooked perfectly and just delightful. We all got the cheesecake dessert. It was so light it could have floated off the plate, but was held down with fresh blueberries and a lovely blueberry sauce. I had not been here in a few years and now remember why it is a Portland icon.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marcia_marcia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Independence, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
155 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Beat All-around Seafood Restaurant in Portland”
Reviewed June 18, 2013

Salty's is a classic on-the-water deck view seafood establishment with a great atmosphere, excellent staff, and tasty food. We often bring out-of-town guests (if the weather cooperates) since the deck offers a unique vantage and the food pleases all.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RichVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“a little dissappointed”
Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

we came on a monday for lunch with our three young kids, taking a break from boat shopping. and while the atmosphere and service were nice, the food was a little lacking.
the oysters in a half shell, shrimp cocktail and kid's meals were the best. but the clam showder was thick, lukewarm and quagulated (sp?). i sent the philly sandwich back because the cheese sauce over it was cold and disgusting like cheese whiz. my husband got the ciopino, which they served with crab utensils and no actual crab in the soup!
perhaps dinner or brunch without kids will be better next time, but not for awhile.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank wkaiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delavan, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over-priced but good”
Reviewed June 6, 2013

My husband wanted to eat crab while we were in Portland and this seemed the logical place, based on reviews. I felt it was a bit pricey but the food was delicious and there was a nice selection of local brews and wines. We had an enjoyable evening here.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank chtrakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Salty's On The Columbia River also viewed

 

Been to Salty's On The Columbia River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing