We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Better choices elsewhere in Portland”
Review of BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse - CLOSED

BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Digital Payments, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Fontana, California
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Better choices elsewhere in Portland”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We hadn't been here for years. Got a flyer in the mail advertising a meal deal for two at an enticing price. So we hopped in the car and drove over the bridge to Jantzen Beach.

I am originally from Illinois and sometimes have a craving for Chicago-style deep dish pizza. While the pizza here is thicker than most chain restaurants, but still misses the mark. Skimpy on all the toppings including sauce--I just can't recommend it at all. Their microbrews are nothing much to write home about, either.

Will say the servers were very friendly and accomodating. The restaurant was clean and well organized. Just wished they served a better product.

I continue to search for the perfect pie!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FellowTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    18
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Delta, Canada
Level Contributor
151 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Food was good”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Our food here was good. My husband was happy with the choice of beers available. I noted that they had gluten free meals and desserts. Our steak was cooked just the way we like it. The temperature was good - although it was a very hot day, the restaurant was neither hot, or cold.
The restaurant was a cheerful place, with friendly staff.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Eve_Delta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“For a great meal in Portland, OR”
Reviewed August 11, 2012

BJ's is one of those places that you find yourself going back to, again and again, without even realizing it. Good food, good servce can never hurt. For a quick bite, a relaxing meal, a drink and a snack, BJ's can be counted on to be just the right spot.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good beer, good food. Good place.”
Reviewed June 22, 2012

Has brewing equipment on site which adds to the feel. Good variety of food. I like it.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank drivinginstyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
61 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Reliable food and good bar”
Reviewed June 3, 2012

This is a review of the BJs in Portland on Jantzen Beach, which for some reason I do not see listed here for BJs in Portland The Jantzen Beach BJs is 5 minutes form our home on the Columbia River Channel. We go there regularly, walk past the long lines waiting, directly to the bar, and settle in with a good martini. We always meet interesting people at the bar who are passing through Portland, or who live here - many of the air pilots stay at the nearby Red Lion and end up at BJs bar. Vodka martini, gin martini, some ribs or coconut shrimp or Asian chicken salad - it's all good. This is a brewpub - their beers are good also, but I usually drink the Grey Goose or Absolut vodka. They are happy to give you tastes of beer to enable an informed decision on their varieties. I do not like chains as a rule, but this BJs is a reliable neighborhood favorite.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatricksMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed BJ's Restaurant & Brewhouse also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing