We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Little house of beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedge House

Hedge House
Ranked #1,030 of 4,249 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Waitstaff
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
125 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Little house of beer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014

As I have said in other Lompoc location reviews, I am a firm believer in the tastiness of Lompac's beer. They have a few stalwart characters on their board and they put out new batch after new batch of seasonal beers. It can be hit or miss with some of the seasonals, but when they get it right its great; and to be fair, I still enjoy the not so great ones, makes for a fun time of tasting and analyzing. I enjoy the food, although when I talk Lompoc, I'm talking beer.
Lompoc has a few locations in Portland; this is one of my favorites. Located in a little house on Division, they have a few rooms filled with tables and local artistes works on the walls. The kitchen takes up the back and the side yard is filled with many an outside table. No tables available? No problem, grab a beer and sip it on the front porch while you wait. One downside is they have no actual bar (probably not enough space) so if you like saddling up a seat at the taps, it won't happen here.
End note: Tuesdays here are Tightwade Tuesdays; this means $2.50 pints all day. Spectacular deal.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike191919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

22 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    11
    1
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salinas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Wow, what a hip little place! The BEST Mac and Cheese I ever had! :) !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

Can't think of anything I didn't like! Fun waiter and great beers! Like eating at a friend's house. Close to the Bluebird Guesthouse where we were staying.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Merc56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
114 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great beer, good pub food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2013

This is a fun place to have an excellent microbrew, along with good pub fare if you're hungry. Cheap pints on Tuesdays, and a good place for a brew while you're waiting for Pok Pok or one of the other nearby restaurants.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kreskin2207
Level Contributor
257 reviews
200 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Great beer in a nice relaxed atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

This was one of the first stops we made on a 2 day beer blitz on the city of Portland. We stopped in just after lunch and it was very quiet - perfect. We ordered a sampler and were very pleased. Definitely a great start to the beer trek. If you're overwhelmed with options, I'd say this was a good one not to miss. It's also within walking distance to Pok Pok (3 blocks) so have lunch there and head over for some dessert (beer that is!)

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kreskin2207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“If you go you wont regret it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2011

As a Portland native that has been in transition around the country for the last few years, the hedge house remains a favorite destination when I am home or have friends visiting. The PABST sandwich is my favorite sandwich of all time and I make sure to stop by at least once every time I am in town. And that being said, everything that I have eaten off their menu is quite tasty so you probably cant go wrong.

The atmosphere cannot be beat, especially in the summer and fall when the weather is ideal for outdoor seating. You can go with a group of friends and sit at the tables, or you can go by yourself and sit in the grass reading your book. This bar holds the essence of all that is wonderful about portland, and it has some mighty tasty beers too.

Also, if you go on Tuesdays are only $2.50 so you really cant go wrong.

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MNP20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hedge House also viewed

 

Been to Hedge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing