We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky neighborhood spot”

Stepping Stone Cafe
Ranked #186 of 4,313 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
185 reviews
123 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Funky neighborhood spot”
Reviewed October 28, 2012

This place is tucked into a nice residential neighborhood and it is tiny. The food is good. They serve breakfast all day, but have a lunch menu too. They are open late. The servers are not very attentive. There is an attitude of superiority...like you are lucky to be eating here. Service is slow. The decor is cluttered and not
particularly clean. It is a bit of a young hipster hangout.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Beenthere1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    71
    60
    17
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rhyl, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Home of the Mancake as seen on TV on Man V Food”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Stopped here for breakfast and had one of their famous Mancakes...basically a 13 inch round pancake, they are very delicious and soft and very filling. I only had 1 and couldn't quite manage it..and they're more famous for their stack of 3 of these. Fantastic place, good value and fantastic food.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gonzocbr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jacinto, California
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
163 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 209 helpful votes
“Great value here”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We have eaten at the Stepping Stone Cafe in Portland, Oregon many times and have always enjoyed it. Except for one of the times it has always been for breakfast. The dinner there was pretty good but I believe they realized specialize for breakfast where the food is very good and they give extremely generous portions. It's no surprise they can get quite busy for breakfast and parking can be difficult in that area. We discovered the Stepping Stone Cafe when it was featured in "Man vs. Food" on the Food Channel. When we go there we are traveling all the way from east of Vancouver but it's well worth the drive. I would especially recommend their pancakes or oatmeal for breakfast, both of which are very good and very large portions. One other thing we like about this restaurant is they are listed in restaurant.com so you can save money by using a coupon from that site. Most restaurants are not in restaurant.com but they are.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennewick, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food and atmosphere”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Portions were huge, prices were reasonable, food was good and staff was friendly! It is a very small place so sometimes the wait may be some time. We had to wait about 15 minutes on a beautiful Saturday morning in Portland

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mar56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Portland Must!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

If you want a fantastic breakfast in a quirky restaurant in the Nob Hill area this is it. Don't miss the Smothered B.A.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank canegirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stepping Stone Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Stepping Stone Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing