We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food”

Swagat Indian Cuisine
Ranked #326 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Its the same typical Indian foods. Food was tasty but bit expensive and was prepared within 15 minutes. There is not enough parking space available.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Aman S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    59
    27
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Akron, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best experienced on weekend”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Excellent lunch buffet, probably best Indian meals I have ever had in USA. The buffet is best experienced on Friday-Sunday. Small parking lot, in downtown, so drive around if you cannot find parking. They have branches, but not as good. I would park somewhere between here and Powell bookstore, bring quarters though to feed the meters. About 1.1 miles from Powell's City of Books at Burnside. (Huge 1 city block, 2 story high bookstore, used and new. Feel like you are inside library at Hogwarts)

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level 6 Contributor
191 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Still the Best”
Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have been a fan of Swagat for many years. Sadly, we moved far away from Portland and I am only able to dine here when i am visiting the Rose City. Last night we enjoyed a meal at Swagat in NW Portland. Every aspect was utterly delightful.
The hostess, recognizing that we might like a more private space, seated us away from families with active children. Shortly after sitting down we were plied with papadum and the three Swagat chutneys (green, red and white, like the Bandera Mexicana) And then dinner arrived. Everything was delicious: Chicken Saag, Pallak Paneer and Eggplant Curry. Yummers!
As always, the portions were so generous that there was plenty to take home for a snack. And the price was soo reasonable. If you like great Indian cuisine, this is the place for you.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JeffLookinatFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
134 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Parking lot!”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

After driving all around the neighborhood, I really appreciated that Swagat had its own parking lot. Portions were generous, service was friendly, food was very good. The Thali plate was huge - couldn't possibly eat it all - would be good to share. We had 2 small children and they put us way in the back corner in kind of a awkward table, but otherwise everything was great. Might have had a little better table if we were up in the front dining room.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuanaRubin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
533 reviews
315 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 704 helpful votes
“Inexpensive Indian Fix”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

The lunch buffet is consistently good for an Indian cuisine fix at lunch. Price is reasonable for what you get.

Helpful?
Thank PALTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swagat Indian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Swagat Indian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing