We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanksgiving Lunch”
Review of Jake's Grill

Jake's Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Jake's Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #34 of 4,317 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Large groups, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Alder
Transit: Directly across the street at SW 10th and Alder
Saratoga, CA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Thanksgiving Lunch”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Spent Thanksgiving lunch (not the buffet) with family and enjoyed the atmosphere. It was very busy, but we had a reservation and was promptly seated. We requested a quiet area with accessibility for a 92-year old uncle. The atmosphere was nice, but not so quiet because it was located in front of the door to the bar room. Service was prompt, friendly and accommodating to dietary restrictions and needs. Enjoyed the diverse menu, as some of us ordered the traditional turkey meal, while others enjoyed crab cocktail, cedar-planked steelhead and stuffed salmon. Table setting was formal and servers all in white coats and tie. It is a McCormick & Schmicks chain of restaurants.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank JTM_Saratoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    269
    219
    80
    31
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Panama City Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
161 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfast!!”
Reviewed January 2, 2014

My family (5 adults) and I had breakfast at Jake's Grill on Christmas eve. The food, service and atmosphere were all top notch. I wish that we could have eaten here again before flying home to Florida. My son ordered the biscuits and gravy and only gave me one little taste. It was wonderful and I would have ordered that had we had time to visit again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fearlessphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointed with "Stuffed Salmon" dinner”
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I ate here Christmas Day and both ordered the "Stuffed Salmon" dinner. It was supposed to have been stuffed with crab and shrimp, but it wasn't. It probably was in the white sauce on top. The salmon came on a pile of garlic mashed potatoes. There was no vegetable on the plate. As part of the meal, we each got a small bun of dry sour dough bread and a lettuce only salad to go with it. The meal cost almost $30 each and we were still hungry afterwards. On the positive side, the salmon (and mashed potatoes) was excellent and I love the historic atmosphere here. The service was good considering how packed they were that night. We have been eating here for years but we probably will not return. There are plenty of restaurants in Portland that have excellent seafood, larger portions and lower prices than here.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank RCS72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fabulous pre-Christmas dinner with family”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

I never tire of this timeless place. Great bar scene/drinks/friendly. Outstanding server who anticipated our every need, including many refills of our grandsons' Shirley Temples. My horseradish encrusted halibut was the best seafood dish that I have had in years. The other 3 adults were equally enthusiastic. The Christmas buzz helped our spirits, of course, but the food stood on its own.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Twotravelers1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food and Atmosphere”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

Great place for an intimate meal, happy hour at the bar, or a large group dinner. Historic old Portland charm with excellent steaks and seafood. Fun classic cocktails and a great (if pricey) wine list. Enjoyed our family Christmas dinner there this year. Made reservations early and booked a neat private room (several are available) for the 19 of us. First class all the way! We had several small kids so getting the private room was the way to go! If you can't do that, leave the kids at home.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ripper4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jake's Grill also viewed

 

Been to Jake's Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing