We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“IronHorse Specials ARE Special”

Iron Horse Restaurant
Ranked #1,556 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Southwestern, Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating
Neighborhood: Sellwood - Moreland Improvement League
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“IronHorse Specials ARE Special”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

Billed as a Mexican Restaurant so tried some standards like enchiladas. They were ok but nothing to write back to Texas about. On a return trip we tried a Special and the Chili Verde Bowl. OMG they were delicious. We have since become regulars and Mark and staff treat us great. Stick with marvelous specials and Salvadoran dishes and you can't go wrong. They even have good Cajun/Creole specials. Cadillac margaritas are the way to go. Many Portlanders don't like spicy but if you do.....try IronHorse.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    16
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
West Linn, Oregon
Level Contributor
145 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Good food, good happy hour”
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Met up with some old friends for happy hour with my wife and daughter and had a great time. They make their own salsa's and come in three different heat ranges to suit every taste. Good selection of draft beers and one of my favorites Dos XX. Happy hour is just $3.50 for import and micro and $2.50 for domestic so it's hare to beat the price. $3.00 for 3 mini tacos rounded out the food offering, and they were loaded with goodies. Staff is very friendly and helpful.
Had a mix-up on the bill and called back today and they fixed the whole thing and were great about it. Food is really good, but they get quite busy, so get there early. Lots of big screen TV's as well so you can watch your favorite sports.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank globalreach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A different kind of Mexican”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

In Portland, our son recommended The Iron Horse for dinner. He goes often and we found it to be far better than the Tex-Mex places we find all over the place. The food was very fresh delicious. The Margaritas were excellent, and the service was prompt, pleasant and efficient. Like many of the restaurants in Portland there were organic options as well. We look forward to returning there one our next visit.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank boat66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great Food and Great Service”
Reviewed May 30, 2012

We like to go here for the great mexican food and the even better margaritas. Try it you wont be disappointed,

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fdkpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“overpriced... will not go back”
Reviewed May 23, 2012

It is simply average and overpriced. The chips do not seem house made (which you can find at so many other places). The drinks were ok but spendy. The enchilada sauce on my burrito was good, but a bean and rice burrito for almost $11 seems a bit much for me. The service was good, but there are so many other places to get excellent Mexican food in Portland for much cheaper. I will not be returning.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelingSpangela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Iron Horse Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Iron Horse Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing