We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The pasta is excellent! but not much space”
Review of Grassa

Grassa
Ranked #60 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“The pasta is excellent! but not much space”
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My husband and I had an early dinner at Grassa.
At 1st we were not convinced about the communal tables (almost no space in between chairs!) and the small size of the wine glasses, but when the pasta came in... We were amazed! really tasty, great size, great garlic bread as well.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Applefritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    127
    83
    22
    7
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Fresh pasta + reasonable price = happy belly”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Finally, someone gets that homemade pasta shouldn't cost a fortune. We've been to Grassa five times now, and ordered something different each visit (so, ten different pasta dishes total). Only once were we underwhelmed with the meal, but the other nine knocked our socks off. Service has always been great, but that might also be because we choose off times when it's easy to get a seat. All in all, the menu is creative, ambiance is cool (they play different records and display the album so you know what you're listening to - instead of just turning on Pandora or the like), and everyone is nice. We recommend it to pretty much everyone we talk to.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEDAR CITY
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best pasta since Italy!”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stumbled across this place a couple of months ago just when they opened and have been back several times since. Simply put the pasta is amazing! We have been consistently disappointed with pasta dinners at "Italian" restaurants since a trip to Italy last fall. This place is the one exception. It is a simple menu with unpretentious dining but it is all about the food. Run, do not walk to eat here!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LONNIE W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camarillo, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Grease is Good...”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My spouse took me to Grassa on our first night in Portland (for vacation). Fantastic! We ordered the radiatore and the gigli; both were excellent. We actually went back the next night and split another dish (sadly, I cannot remember the name...). The pastas are extremely fresh, and I rather liked the vinyl playing in the background. The waitstaff brought us water very promptly (I go through an inordinate quantity in a meal, so this is essential to my dining experience). Prices are quite reasonable: you are paying for excellent food at a communal table, not a private dining experience. We value good food over all else, but if you like more of "the experience", perhaps Grassa is not for you.

The highest praise I can give Grassa is this: if we lived in Portland, we'd probably eat there weekly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravelvsVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Concept & Pasta Perfect - Service Not So”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Grassa restaurant is the concept of Rick Gencarelli. And a great concept if you want very fresh pasta, maybe watch it being made, with generous portions and at a very reasonable price.

The concept is great. You enter, order as you enter, take a number and then seat yourself, including at the counter overlooking the kitchen, as we did, and you can watch them make the pasta right in front of you.

And for us as an extra treat the youngish man making it was very knowledgeable as we asked about the flour he was using and other aspects of making the pasta. Our was tasty and definitely fresh.

However a major issue is the service. Or to be more accurate the serving of the food since you order as you enter and seat yourself. The basic rule is that pasta must be served, hot, once it is made. However being at the counter we could see it sit, and sit and sit on the counter, not being served, way past any reasonable amount of time.

The serving was to be done by a young man and his assistant. And the problem wasn't just that he was too busy. He talked on his cell phone many times, filled water bottles from the sink in front of us and generally seemed very confused. Meanwhile bowls of pasta would just sit on the counter waiting to be served.

Ours was fairly warm, but not hot and but I am sure the pasta of other was luke warm at best.

I gave it fours stars because of the nice space, great concept, excellent value. But the serving is a major deficiency. Since it has only been open a short time hopefully this is corrected, soon!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michellepdx1917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grassa also viewed

 

Been to Grassa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing