We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service and food”
Review of Oba Restaurant

Oba Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Oba Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #137 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic, Business meetings, Bar scene, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NW Hoyt
Description: Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Oba! Restaurant is known for its festive atmosphere, refreshing cocktails and vibrant, award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine.Oba! Restaurante opened in Portland, Oregon in October 1997 by owner Steve McLain. Executive Chef Luis Contrera's innovative cuisine, explores vibrant flavors from Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and across the Americas. Oba!'s menu is where bold latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. Creating a festive, friendly setting in which guests feel welcome and nurtured is Oba!'s ultimate goal. Oba!'s inventive cuisine, stunning design, hand-crafted cocktails and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 15 successful years.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great service and food”
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

My first time in Portland and if this restaurant is how you are treated when you are here, I'm coming back. Originally our group was five but as we reached the restaurant this was upped to seven, no problem for them. The waitress was very knowledgable about the food and wines and explained everything and gave recommendations which some of the party tried. The salads were very good but the Gaucho prime rib was excellent with amazing seasoning. The lemon sorbet was a great way to finish the meal. Wine was from Spain and excellent, it complimented the food and I would definitely come back again.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank RichardPatton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    99
    46
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mill Creek, Washington
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening”
Reviewed October 24, 2013

My husband and I went to Portland for the weekend and enjoyed dinner at Oba. We had reservations and were seated on time in a booth that allowed us to watch the rest of the restaurant. We did not have any of the entrees and made a meal of several tapas so that we could enjoy several different dishes. The food was very good and we especially enjoyed the coconut shrimp, the shrimp with arugula pesto and the roasted corn dip. Our least favorite was the calamari which was not as crispy as we would have liked.

The atmosphere was lovely and made it feel like a special night out. The service was very professional and friendly but not hovering. Knowing that we were having several tapas as dinner the servers paced the meal making sure that not everything arrived at once but was paced for a enjoyable meal.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cleonora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
113 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Dessert is everything”
Reviewed October 23, 2013

The atmosphere and service transport you to an international spot with flare. Two cookies and a muscatel make a visit to the lively Andina a must. The avocado and crab shrimp dish is yummy. I was not pleased by the two crab shells, but the taste was good. However, the sweet scallops were charred too much for my taste. In spite of those issues, the dessert saves the day.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Renee R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
medford, oregon
Level Contributor
100 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Delightful romantic evening”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I went on a Thursday night. Superb waiter made suggestions and wine choice. Wife had a beet salad she loved, we shared the table side guacamole, I had octopus civici, and finished with garlic shrimp; menu is unique and extensive. Delightful atmosphere and a fun romantic evening. Recommend you go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank medfordcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Like the concept but food didn't make expectations”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Expectations were high with trip advisor ratings and were boosted by the menu. Crab cakes were a good choice, but the mains, while solid quality, didn't quite make the most of the complexity of ingredients. Good recommendation on the wine. Perhaps just not one of their better nights. Willing to give it another try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oba Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing