We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful romantic evening”
Review of Oba Restaurant

Oba Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Oba Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #128 of 4,343 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NW Hoyt
Description: Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Oba! Restaurant is known for its festive atmosphere, refreshing cocktails and vibrant, award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine.Oba! Restaurante opened in Portland, Oregon in October 1997 by owner Steve McLain. Executive Chef Luis Contrera's innovative cuisine, explores vibrant flavors from Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and across the Americas. Oba!'s menu is where bold latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. Creating a festive, friendly setting in which guests feel welcome and nurtured is Oba!'s ultimate goal. Oba!'s inventive cuisine, stunning design, hand-crafted cocktails and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 15 successful years.
medford, oregon
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Delightful romantic evening”
Reviewed October 20, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I went on a Thursday night. Superb waiter made suggestions and wine choice. Wife had a beet salad she loved, we shared the table side guacamole, I had octopus civici, and finished with garlic shrimp; menu is unique and extensive. Delightful atmosphere and a fun romantic evening. Recommend you go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank medfordcouple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    101
    46
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
“Like the concept but food didn't make expectations”
Reviewed October 2, 2013 via mobile

Expectations were high with trip advisor ratings and were boosted by the menu. Crab cakes were a good choice, but the mains, while solid quality, didn't quite make the most of the complexity of ingredients. Good recommendation on the wine. Perhaps just not one of their better nights. Willing to give it another try.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kazagogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Very happy Happy hour!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We had noticed this restaurant on a previous trip but didnt get an opportunity to visit. This time we were in the Pearl district and stopped in for Happy Hour which we found out goes all day on Sunday. As it was a lovely warn evening we opt'd to sit outside. The food was start to finish great and very well priced being in the 4-6 per plate range. We sampled the grilled corn coated with house made aoli and Cojita cheese ( think mexican parmesan), scallop ceviche, fish tacos,Arepas ( corn cakes similar to pupusa's), flash fried squid and the rice special. I had a Guava Margaurita which was the best I have ever had and ordered a second. The service was friendly and prompt and before leaving we took a peek in the indoor lounge and dining room which also looked inviting. We will be back.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KT324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hidden Hills, California
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Excellent Happy Hour”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

I was in Portland for four days to celebrate my birthday. Our first stop was for Happy Hour on Saturday at Oba. We fully intended to have a little snack and go for dinner later. We had such a good time, we stayed and had several small plates along with Oregon beer. Nice waitress, upbeat music, good food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kathleene_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
39 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great dinner in the Pearl”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had a family dinner at Oba and were very pleased with our service and the taste and quality of the food. The restaurant is not overly large but it has comfortable tables for larger groups and can get quite noisy when it's busy, as it was when we were there. Our wait staff was excellent and performed graciously without being intrusive.

We had the crispy coconut shrimp and Cesar salad for apps and both were delicious. Oba has dairy free, vegetarian, and gluten free menus to satisfy most requirements but I stuck with the normal menu and had their Carne Gordo prime rib. The rib was cooked to perfection with no bone and very little excess fat. The chipotle horseradish was also excellent and gave a spicy, smoky flavor to the beef.

For dessert we shared an order of the banana malasadas that were just outstanding and highly recommended! We really enjoyed our dinner at Oba and plan to return again in the future.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Oba Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Oba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing