We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vegetarian? maybe. just not a lot.”
Review of Oba Restaurant

Oba Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Oba Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #131 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: NW Hoyt
Description: Located in the heart of the Pearl District, Oba! Restaurant is known for its festive atmosphere, refreshing cocktails and vibrant, award-winning Nuevo Latino cuisine.Oba! Restaurante opened in Portland, Oregon in October 1997 by owner Steve McLain. Executive Chef Luis Contrera's innovative cuisine, explores vibrant flavors from Spain, Portugal, the Caribbean and across the Americas. Oba!'s menu is where bold latin traditions, spices and preparations meet seasonal, local ingredients. Creating a festive, friendly setting in which guests feel welcome and nurtured is Oba!'s ultimate goal. Oba!'s inventive cuisine, stunning design, hand-crafted cocktails and commitment to excellent guest service have sustained a solid following and 15 successful years.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Vegetarian? maybe. just not a lot.”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Came here for a special birthday meal hoping for a little vegetarian indulgence... what I got was very, very little in the way of choices. I had read that Oba was vegetarian friendly and even offered a special menu.... which they do have, but it isn't really a special menu, it is just a limited and edited version of its regular menu. So in that regard, it was a bit of a disappointment. Fortunately we eat fish and the ahi appetizer was available. Otherwise, the pickings were slim. I certainly wasn't full when I left.

The restaurant itself is very lovely and the service was fine.It did look like a lot of large groups on corporate expense accounts were taking up most of the dining room and engaging most of the staff. It didn't feel too intimate because of that. Not too sure about the drinks as my drink was intended to be infused with chile (habanero?) but it was more bitter than savory. Maybe we hit an off night ?

It wasn't bad, it just wasn't what I had hoped for :(

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank totallye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    101
    46
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great HH”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We come here for happy hour all of the time...love their Oba burger...it is juicy and delicious! thier Oba ceasar is my all time favorite, and the fries that come on the side of the burger are SO GREAT!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ashley U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Favorite Restaurant!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

My wife and I love this restaurant. The service is always excellent, the wait staff are very knowledgable about the menu. The food is not only fantanstic, but different and a good departure from what you will find anywhere else. The atmosphere is very good as well. Great for friend, groups, dates, but probably not the place you want to bring your kids. The price is right around $35/entree so expect to spend $100-$150 for two depending on appetizer, drinks and dessert.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank B_and_A_2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still Great!”
Reviewed September 7, 2012

When I think of Oba, I usually think of it as a launching place for First Thursday or other nights out in the Pearl District. That's, of course, what a lot of people think, as Oba has a very happening bar and outside seating section that are both packed on summer evenings and on First Thursdays. But more overlooked is the very fantastic dining room in the back, which I visited again recently.

It's been awhile since I had eaten in Oba's dining room, but when I walked in on a busy summer evening recently, with the bar in full crowd mode, slipping into the dining room took me worlds away. It is quiet and subtly lit. A lovely place to have a very fine meal.

The food was nothing short of amazing. In a town that is full of some of the best restaurants anywhere, Oba should not be overlooked. The food is inventive, flavorful and satisfying. I also loved that many of the menu items are available in smaller portions that allowed sampling of lots of dishes. The Roasted Butternut Squash Enchildas and the Yucatan Pork Arepas were super delicious.

I've been eating around Portland for years and I'm glad to know that Oba had still got it.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RunningJoePDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Lovely experience all around”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

We came here based on a friend's recommendation and we were not disappointed The food was just yummy! And our server made helpful suggestions that turned out perfectly. Everyone is friendly and upbeat. Just a lovely place to spend time and dine comfortably.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cabonini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Oba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing