We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A diamond in the rough”
Review of Canyon Grill

Canyon Grill
Ranked #842 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Steakhouse
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
132 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A diamond in the rough”
Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

Amazing sandwiches that go beyond the hamburger. But if you want a great burger they can do that too. Basically a hole in the wall that you may drive by many times before finding. But once you do you'll enjoy some of the best casual fare (and reasonably priced) in town.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JLATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    4
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Burgers”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

They have to have one of the best burgers in Portland. They have a lot of types to choose from. Come hungry. They will give you more than you can eat. Great fry and tater sause too.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank X86guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 302 helpful votes
“A Burger to Remember”
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Canyon Grill is a neighborhood, order-at-the-counter place with a growing reputation for really outstanding burgers at a modest price. There is seating indoors and out. I tried the cheeseburger with a combination of American and cheddar cheese. The meat was crispy on the outside and juicy on the inside. The bun was terrific. All in all, it was as good a burger as any I've tried in years. The basket option includes good fries, though I'd have preferred to salt them (or not) on my own. With a diet soda, I still got change from a ten. The streetside ambience is fun, and the proprietors and staff are friendly. I look forward to testing the breakfast menu.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GeorgePortland_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
georgia
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Excellent Burgers and more.”
Reviewed August 14, 2012

This is an excellent small takeout and sidewalk restaurant. Pick a day with excellent weather and get ready for excellent hamburgers and fries. Of course they have many other things. I would highly recommend this local business for the locals and tourists who know. We really enjoyed eating out in the outdoors area. This grill has excellent food but not a place for scenic views and plush atmosphere. Just good food with the locals.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jeb45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“great burgers, good breakfast, great owner”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

I found this place after hearing about it from friends. It is smaller than small, but turns out big flavors and really good burgers. They serve breakfast on the weekend, and it is the best value around. The owner is really nice - passionate about her business and it shows.
Love this place - my new go to spot when I want an honest lunch!

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pacafechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canyon Grill also viewed

 

Been to Canyon Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing