We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Place To Eat”

Elmer's Restaurant - Mall 205
Ranked #350 of 4,276 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $0 - $15
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: A Northwest favorite since 1960. Our 25 locally owned Elmer's Restaurants take pride in their communities and source local, farm-fresh ingredients.
Beaver Dam, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
194 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Good Place To Eat”
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We stopped in for lunch on a very busy day and we were surprised with the fast and courteous service. While the place was full and very busy, the wait staff was courteous and very efficient in providing excellent service in providing us with a good lunch. The clam chowder was very good and the turkey sandwich I had with it was tasty. We got a fair amount of food for a reasonable price. We will definitely go back there again when we are in the area.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bruce M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    36
    13
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chisinau, Moldova
Level Contributor
67 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Old Reliable”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I have been eating at this Elmer's for more than 10 years -- whenever I visit Portland. It is a part of the Elmer's chain which I think of as an upscale IHOP -- except it is more than that. But they offer the best breakfast menu, outstanding service and a very comfortable venue. Parking is ample. In my mind, it is the old reliable. I have eaten breakfast here often with friends and always found the food to be very good, the service reliably good, and the location just great. We have had family meals with more than 15 people and I have eaten here by myself. The restuarant was fine for all types of occasions. I would recommend a special dish, but there are just too many. I am particularly fond of the three-berry french toast and Elmer's excellent selection of omelets.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heartbend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
283 reviews
104 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“They handle the crowd”
Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Don't worry if the parking lot is full. Elmer's attracts lots of repeat customers because they know how to handle a nearly-full restaurant efficiently and with friendly, timely service. The tables were full, but our food came as though we had the place to ourselves Good food, and a cut above the typical road house family restaurant.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hollyrik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
53 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Family spot”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

Elmer's still provides what it did 35 years ago - quality food, generous portions, and reasonable prices. It's not gourmet, but then that's not why one visits Elmer's. Nice place to take the family, great breakfasts, and (usually) pretty good service.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank MCinPDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
330 reviews
237 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Great breakfast!”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

This place is a quick 5 minute walk right off the Parkhurst stop on the red line MAX. Breakfast was excellent! Really fresh food and great service!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sid k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elmer's Restaurant - Mall 205 also viewed

 

Been to Elmer's Restaurant - Mall 205? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing