We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual atmosphere, good food, good service.”
Review of Old Wives' Tales - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Old Wives' Tales
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Aloha, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Casual atmosphere, good food, good service.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The menu can be described as "multi-ethnic". Most items are gluten-free which is an unusual find. The menu is extensive and contains many "creative" choices. The food is tasty and the servers are attentive and pleasant. Free wi-fi is available. There is a separate dining area available for small, energetic children.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank coxaloharc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    25
    16
    7
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Im a frequent flyer”
Reviewed April 9, 2013

This is a place we take friends who are visiting, its a great place for people with multiple diet restrictions, the gluten free options are GREAT and the service has been spot on.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Misha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Incredible food, ingredients and service!”
Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

This is our new favorite Portland restaurant. The Hungarian Mushroom soup has a complex, wholesome taste and warms up the rainy day. Every dish that we ordered was prepared with quality ingredients. The food is healthy and there is a large variety of vegetarian/vegan options. The server and host were kind and helpful. When asking about the soups, they offered us to sample each kind at the soup bar before ordering. Excellent food, quality staff and clean, relaxing environment.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ShawntaMBush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Quality Food”
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This place has good food, with quality ingredients. They could do a few things better, service is the first one. Not that the service here is bad it is just kind of odd. Some of it is table service, some self serve, and the staff is friendly but distant at the same time. I have had days when I came in here and had great, warm service but it was too little of it. Or the day I came in and they were closing in like 30 mins and I basically got told to leave. I remember it being something like 8:30. This was the last time I visited.

So to conclude good quality food that could use a bit more imagination with odd spotty service. Now it has been a while since I have been in here so they could have new staff that would change a lot of the service side of things.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great if you like healthy food”
Reviewed January 9, 2013

This is a slightly funky-feeling restaurant, but the food is unusual and healthy; the atmosphere rather arty/folksy.

Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Wives' Tales also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing