We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Different Donuts”
Review of Voodoo Doughnut

Voodoo Doughnut
Ranked #2 of 69 Bakeries in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: Downtown
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Different Donuts”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

They have such unique donuts. No time to eat there but brought a box home to my family. Circus donuts for the kids, bacon and maple longjohn for hubby. I enjoyed the oreo one also. I was the envy in the airport..everyone wanted to sample.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6,062 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,448
    1,833
    1,296
    333
    152
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Very creative, but could've been fresher”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I saw the crowds lined up on Saturday night and thought, I have to have one of those! So Sunday morning around 9 am, when there was no crowd, I ventured inside. I'd perused the selection on-line and ordered the voodoo doughnut and the mango tango. I hustled back to my hotel room to sample in private with a hot cup of Starbuck's pike place coffee. Well, my first bite into the voodoo fellow and my first thought was not light and fluffy. All the flavors were there, chocolate, raspberry filling, but it was just kind of lumpy. The mango tango had a zingy tart tang to it, but it too was looking a little worse for wear. I thought early morning would bring fresh treats, but I was wrong. :(

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carolina_Moon2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Voodoo will cast a spell on you”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

You do have to stand in line, but the doughnuts are worth the trip and the wait! We spent our time in line trying to figure out what we wanted, because there are so many doughnuts to choose from. The pink box was fun, the store is funky, and the doughnuts are the best.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank jdward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Scary Good”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Voodoo Doughnuts is too good. I'm vegan and it's not often I get to eat doughnuts but they have a dozen different vegan varieties. Add in the mainstream doughnuts and it's easily the largest selection of round pastries I've ever seen. And, they're delicious!

The whole atmosphere is a party too. You do have to wait in a sizable line but it's fun. It's a cool adventure.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
portland oregon
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adult Donuts”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

VoodDoo Doughnuts are definitely not the best tasting in town, however if you're just visiting and want to see a tasty selection of tattoo-covered, body-pierced, hungover Portland "hipsters", by all means stand in the long line and satisfy your voyeuristic urges.

Bring cash! No checks or credit cards accepted, but there is an ATM conveniently located in the shop.

If you're travelling with kids, just be warned in advance, its sort of an adult doughnut shop. The first time I went there with kids under 10, they were a little out of place between the R-rated art, doughnuts (e.g the [--] and balls) and overall ambiance.\

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kristin b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Voodoo Doughnut also viewed

 

Been to Voodoo Doughnut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing