We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Local Breakfast Place” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cafe Du Berry

Cafe Du Berry
Ranked #493 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $30
Cuisines: French, American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
158 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
“Great Local Breakfast Place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2014

We often times travel to the various 'other' breakfast places in PDX (i.e. Mothers, Gravy, Tin Shed, Red Star, etc.) but we wanted to find a descent place for a great breakfast that we could walk/bike to on a moments notice - and we found it in Café du Berry. As someone said, the interior is a bit 'tired', but this is PDX and we were looking for something PDX casual. They just finished a new outdoor patio and we sat there. We got there about 9:30 am and while there were people inside, we were the only ones at that time to select outside seating, but it filled 1/2 way in 30 minutes as others walked up.

Note that the service can be slow when a lot of people show up all of a sudden, so be prepared as this is not a Fast Food establishment. The waiter got us fresh coffee and our juice while we decided. We had previously had the various egg omelets and eggs benedict (including standard and the smoked salmon) as well as their scallop/shitake mushroom omelet. We decided splitting the French Toast (or should I say custard masquerading as toast) and a repeat of the scallop/shitake omelet. The French Toast was among the best we have ever had (texture of a well made custard, a touch of vanilla, dusted with powdered sugar, and a drizzle of maple syrup). The omelet was outstanding as the scallops were bountiful (3 for each of us) and the omelet texture just like you get in France. Will definitely repeat the same order next time it was that good. There is also the side of fresh fruit (blueberries, strawberries) and toast along with hash browns. As someone has noted, the hash browns are not worth putting on the plate, but with everything else, we did not need them anyway.

The staff kept our coffee mugs filled with fresh hot coffee and did take a bit of time to get our check (not in a hurry as we were on our local bike ride). Our favorite South Waterfront (actually in John's Landing) place for a casual and tasty weekend brunch.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank LovesTravel51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    26
    21
    4
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
156 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“The French toast is a slice of heaven! <3”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2014

Cafe Du Berry French toast is their house speciality and it will not disappoint your taste buds. Bon appetite! The atmosphere is that of an old house. But, weather permitting, do sit outside. The garden setting gives it a peaceful ambience. Be aware that MacAdam is a major street -- with very noisy traffic. Upon finishing your meal -- take a walk along the waterfront at Willamette Park. (Parking is not free so leave your car in the neighborhood as you stroll along the walkway).

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Peggy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
343 reviews
231 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Needs a little TLC”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

A decent neighborhood breakfast joint that is long in need of a little TLC.

The food, especially their mysteriously delicious rendition of French custard toast, is good; but the decor and general upkeep of the establishment are really lacking.

For years I would go to the cafe nearly ever week for an early morning meeting with a mentor. For years, little changed - not the coffee, food or service. Now it seems the insistence on holding firm to established practices has had a bit of backlash. As there is clearly a need for a remodel and a bit of a menu overhaul.

Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, Oregon, USA
Level Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“a taste of France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

A year ago, we traveled through France for nearly the month of May. We have not had a meal to match what we experienced in Paris and the Loire Valley until we had breakfast at Cafe Du Berry on Macadam Avenue.

We had the special (morel and scallops omelets), which was extraordinary. The food was a delight, but we found the restaurant "atmosphere" a reminder of the French restaurants we most enjoyed on our vacation.

And the service was very good. We are definitely going back for lunch and dinner. And perhaps another breakfast. This is a gem of a "cafe." The best we've found in the area.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Marcus164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
319 reviews
249 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Unassuming Place with a Great Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We ate at the Cafe Du Berry one morning because it was within walking distance of the River's Edge Hotel. The place is not much to look at. There was no sign visible out front the day we visited, but an "open" sign was in the window. The decor is rather run-down and the small number of table on the first floor were all empty when we entered -- but some regulars arrived while we were there. But what Cafe Du Berry lacks in looks, it makes up for in food. My wife had the special omelet with morel mushrooms. It came with scallops but she asked for sausage instead of the scallops. They were more than happy to please and the result was wonderful. The creamy morel and sausage combination along with the fluffy eggs made for one of the best omelets we've ever had. The accompanying hash browns were crisp on the outside and tender inside. I ordered the French waffle which was light, not too sweet and delicious. A side of house-made pork sausage was coarsely-ground with a garlicky tang and seared just right. Service was efficient and friendly.

Cafw Du Berry may not be a looker, but the food will win your heart.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Filmprof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe Du Berry also viewed

 

Been to Cafe Du Berry? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing