We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous food and margaritas.”
Review of Nuestra Cocina

Nuestra Cocina
Ranked #167 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night
Eg Ca
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous food and margaritas.”
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Our 2nd visit in April 2012 was as good as our first one in December 2012. Seating at the counter over-looking the cooking area is highly recommended. The servers can guide you through the entrie menu from "street tacos" to stuffed rellenos or grilled fresh fish. Truly an outstanding dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pamelaEgCa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    29
    12
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Fresh, delicious food”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

The mixed greens salad with pumpkin seeds: perfectly balanced and delicious- and I have high standards. Lamb meatballs: fresh, flavorful with just the right amount of heat in the tomato sauce. Queso fundido: great combination of mushrooms and cheese...decadent. We sat at the bar and watched the chefs prepare everyone's meals...fun. Our waiter was personable and kind, but a bit forgetful. Not a deal breaker though. You're there for the food, and this place delivers.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SelectiveTraveler99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Best Margarita”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

We discovered this place thru Tripadvisor and then had to use Garmin to find it as we are not familiar with Portland. They open at 5pm but we arrived there at 4:30 and decided to just hang around until they opened, good job we did. People started lining up about 4:50pm and by 5pm there must have been 20 people in the line up. The food was good, inexpensive and the servers were friendly. The place was packed within 15 mins. of opening and others we waiting.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aRocaFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“worth the wait”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were a party of 4, showed up on a Saturday night at 7:45pm without reservations and waited 45 minutes for a table, which was fine. Across the street was a cozy bar and a perfect place for a pre-dinner cocktail. When seated the service was prompt, but not pushy. We were in the back room which was not as loud and bustling as the front main room. Our waiter was helpful in offering up suggestions of his favorites. The handmade tortillas are delicious and we ate plenty of them. The margaritas were perfect. Authentic and flavorful. Must eat the flan for dessert. Cool open kitchen and big tiled counter. Great feel, excellent food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pdxhurdler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tualatin, Oregon
Level Contributor
119 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This is a great spot for a group of eight as long as you get there when the doors open at 5:00pm. We loved the small fresh corn tortillas they serve when you sit down. The drinks are really tasty and the food is great (though not your normal Mexican fare). We all had different dishes and everyone seemed to really enjoy what they ordered. Josh, our waiter, was great and very accommodating of the four year old in our party and served a "plain" quesadilla exactly as ordered for her along with fruit. The only negative I will say is that it is very noisy, at least it was back in the corner where we sat.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HaveOmaWillTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nuestra Cocina also viewed

 

Been to Nuestra Cocina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing