We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best chicken and waffles I ever had”
Review of Bread and Ink Cafe

Bread and Ink Cafe
Reserve with OpenTable
Bread and Ink Cafe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #210 of 4,341 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, Southwestern, Italian, Mediterranean
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Hampton, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Best chicken and waffles I ever had”
Reviewed October 21, 2013

During the course of a week long visit to Portland we tried so many places; from food carts, breakfast places, fine dining dinner locations. This was one of the best meals we had all week. Your fried chicken was the tops; moist, tender and just the right amount of crust.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MargMotelMgr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    67
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sister place to waffle window”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

Yummy caff serving great breakfast esp waffles (duh) deor was simple, service was good waffles amazing

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Capt_Trousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great breakfast and kid friendly”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We stopped by with two children, 3 & 7 yrs old, and the food,service and atmosphere were all great. While chocolate chip pancakes were not on the menu, the chef was able to find some chocolate chips and make them as a surprise for the kids. The fruit covered Belgium waffles and omletes were fantastic.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“One Word: French Toast”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Well . . . maybe that was two words. Great menu, great fresh food, a bit pricey -- $30 for breakfast for two. But overall just what to expect from an iconic Portland eatery. People watching alone worth it (but Hawthorne Bl has its own cast of characters). A lot of people line up at the outside Waffle Window, but we sat indoors with no wait.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blahblahb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“I love the food, service and convenience.”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

Great food. We went twice for breakfast, waffles are great, jam is even better and all the food (it comes in large portions) is great. On our next visit to Portland we will go for lunch and dinner. Service was prompt and friendly. Also, they make their own Catsup with its own texture...be sure to try it.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank kell28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bread and Ink Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Bread and Ink Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing