We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So much to enjoy”
Review of Veritable Quandary - CLOSED

Veritable Quandary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Lincoln City, Oregon
Level Contributor
206 reviews
102 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“So much to enjoy”
Reviewed August 18, 2014

A very busy restaurant so you need to book. Excellent location with outdoor seating should the weather allow. We opted indoor seats for a quieter more intimate setting. We arrived earlier than expected and were comfortably wait seated. Drinks were offered and we were regularly attended until our table was ready. Great food and an all round wonderful evening.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lloyd W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Thanks for making us a part of your time in Portland, Lloyd! We'd love to welcome you back soon -- our menu's always changing!

Cheers,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,176
    392
    88
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Ma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Went for the convenience, stayed for the service, returned for the food.”
Reviewed August 18, 2014 via mobile

We were in town for a conference at a nearby hotel and wanted a great meal close by. The restaurant was packed, but our host jumped through hoops to get us seated quickly. When the server was too busy to get to us, the host took our drink and appy orders to get us started. If you go, don't skip over the figs wrapped in bacon- SO delicious! Everyone enjoyed their main courses but the fried chicken with peaches was exceptionally good. Order your chocolate soufflés with your meal. It's worth the calories! We enjoyed everything so much, most of our group went for at least two meals, some went 4 times in three days!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PjPA2MA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
Yup, those dates are too good to pass up! So happy to hear that you enjoyed every bite, and we hope you'll join us next time you're in Portland. You have to try our brunch! :)

Regards,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
258 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
“They do it ALL right!”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

From the setting with indoor and outdoor dining near the river, to the wonderful care of the customers and fantastic local food, VQ is a must do restaurant stop when in Portland. The food is amazing, the restaurant beautiful and the service perfect. A truly high quality restaurant. We thought it far, far superior to the more highly rated Andina. Take a look at the VQ menu to see for yourself what an inventive chef they have, then go there, taste and enjoy a great evening out!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ForeFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Always happy to have you back! Thanks for taking the time to review us. We hope to see you again this fall!

Cheers,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed August 16, 2014 via mobile

Terrific atmosphere and outstanding food. The chef was able to easily accommodate our dietary restrictions. You need to book ahead but a must do while in portland.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank S C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Sounds like you had a fabulous time with us. Thanks for making us a part of your trip. So, what did you order?

Regards,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
Reviewed August 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

One of my favorite restaurants in Portland. Great food, right by the river, parking is a little bit of an issue, but well worth a trip

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lynn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
We're proud to be one of your favorite spots in Portland, Lynn! Thanks for taking the time to review us. Have you had a chance to try our Peach & Blueberry Crisp yet?

See you soon,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritable Quandary also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing