We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A surprise inside!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Veritable Quandary - CLOSED

Veritable Quandary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A surprise inside!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The restaurant is surprisingly large. At first you see only an attractive bar area but it opens up into a lovely restaurant with a beautiful courtyard with tables also. My dinner was delicious.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank iluv2dnc52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
Yes, our patio is the perfect place to enjoy a sunny day! Thanks for the wonderful review. We can't wait to have you back again!

Cheers,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,174
    392
    88
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle WA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Are you Kidding Me?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

Arrived in Portland with my lovely bride and wanted to dine somewhere funky. We've all seen the guide maps of cities touting sites, parking, transportation and restaurant's. Since these venues have to pay to advertise their location I typically don't pay a lot of attention to them, especially the restaurant listings. But then I eyed this moniker amongst the various PF Chang's, Applebee's, McDonalds etc. and thought to myself...Who in the world would name a restaurant "Veritable Quandry"? Then the brilliance of it dawned on me..I am now in a Veritable Quandry, wondering what in the world could this be? Sorry, I guess I'm channeling my inner Anthony Bourdain.
People...RUN...Do not walk to this restaurant. Turns out this place has been in business for 43 years and the owner is 77 years old and still kickin it. I'm not going to go into any detail about this place, menu or service...You'll just have to trust me

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KLeinSeattleWA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
A veritable quandary, indeed! :) Thanks for giving us a try, and for the wonderful review--I'm so glad you enjoyed your meal. Hope you and your wife will pop over again soon!

Warm regards,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
134 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2014 via mobile

Based on all the positive reviews, we decided to try VQ for lunch and were not disappointed. The pulled pork sandwich was delicious and huge, as was my partner's beef skewer (the latter declared the tastiest dish since our arrival in the US). The setting is lovely and atmosphere lively. The staff could not have been friendlier or more helpful and we left armed with things to do (and things not to do) in Portland. We will probably return for dinner before we leave the city.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, April 23, 2014
What a lovely lunch! I'm so glad that you gave us a try, Simon, and that you loved our Pulled Pork Sandwich (great choice!). I hope you'll get a chance to join us for dinner, but if not, keep us in mind next time you're in town!

Warm regards,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lawrenceville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Fabulous!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2014

Service impeccable. Food scrumptious! The menu changes frequently, so what we had might not be what is available when you go. My husband had a salmon dish. I had a ribeye. Both were excellent, so were the sides. We started with the caesar salad. It was our first visit to Portland and we were only staying the weekend before continuing our trip. The food and service were so excellent that we went back again the next night for another delicious dinner.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank vzwriter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Yes, our menu does vary quite a bit, but we can promise you that there will be plenty of delicious dishes on tap when you're back in town! Until next time, thank you for reviewing us. We look forward to your next visit!

Warm regards,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
99 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A Long-standing Portland Favorite - For Good Reason!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Veritable Quandary is one of our favorite places to take guests. Not only are the food and service excellent, the outdoor dining area is a real treat in nice weather. The food incorporates many locally-sourced ingredients and is a great example of Pacific NW Cuisine.

Strongly advise making reservations. I made the mistake of not doing so last Saturday, thinking that 6:30 pm on a sunny Saturday would be way too early to worry about not being seated. The place was already packed! Fortunately, a reservation canceled, so we got a table. When we left at what I would consider prime-time for Saturday night (e.g., between 7:30 and 8), it was even more crowded. As of the time of this writing, VQ was not yet on OpenTable.com, but hopefully it will be soon!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Snert3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erin H, Manager at Veritable Quandary, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Yes, it's always a good idea to make a reservation! I'm glad we were able to squeeze you in, but I'm sorry you had to wait. Still, it's so nice to hear that you've always enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to continue welcoming you back for years to come. In the meantime, thank you so much for the fantastic review!

Warm regards,
Erin, GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritable Quandary also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing