We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool and cramped...”
Review of Veritable Quandary - CLOSED

Veritable Quandary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Cool and cramped...”
Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

Heard a lot about this place..tried it for a work dinner. Bar scene was hoping on a Thursday night. Made a reservation no problem but we decided to stay in the bar since it appeared too quiet in the dining area. Drinks were solid although the dude with the big mustache always seemed put out and never cracked a smile. Food was very good. I has the pork tenderloin. Overall solid experience with a good but very small bar scene.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank workhplayh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,176
    393
    88
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Cozy restaurant with good food”
Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

I will start by saying the restaurant was very busy and I am going to attribute that to the service being slow and inconsistent. The restaurant is very cosy and we were in a room with three tables for two; note this can make for amusing dinner entertainment if couples at the other tables don't realize their voices carry. Now on to the food, we had the bacon wrapped dates with chèvre, the ratio was correct between all the components and it was very good. My hubby had the sturgeon, it was perfectly prepared and black truffles definitely were a great part of the dish. Based on the recommendation from our server I had the chicken and collard greens (note I am not normally a fried chicken fan) the dish was very tasty and the biscuit was yummy and rich. Also we had the house special dessert the chocolate soufflé. What can I say, this soufflé was perfectly done and the chocolate was rich, but not too sweet. One note the walnuts with it don't really add anything to the dessert. Don't plan for a quick meal it is leisurely paced. Once we received our bill there was an extra charge for an original incorrect drink order, but the server corrected the error immediately.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lambchopspecial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
119 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“This restaurant never disappoints!”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

Popped in for breakfast on a Saturday AM w/friends - had a "beet infused" bloody mary (Yumm)
then a lovely breakfast. All 6 of us loved our meals! I had never been to the VQ for breakfast before, only lunches and dinners (which are also FAB). So basically from eggs benedict, french toast (the poratoes are to die for) then the burger or frisee salad w/poached egg, to fried chicken etc. Always great service & exceptional food!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warminster, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great food”
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Decent menu, good range of choices. The food was excellent. Had lunch here recently, weather was good enough to eat outside which is nice to do despite being in the city. Would recommend and will return for dinner one day.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jonmb63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
266 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Excellent food & ambience”
Reviewed October 30, 2013 via mobile

This is a great restaurant with really good Osso Bucco. We all really enjoyed the food & some great North Western Claret. The spring rolls were odd as they were open ones but tasted good & the chocolate soufflé that we shared for dessert was excellent. The service was the only thing that was a little slow as the restaurant was very busy on a Tuesday night. It is essential to book a table & I could not increase the numbers from 4 to 6 either!

Helpful?
Thank Cakebreadt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritable Quandary also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing