We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Say yummy to the tummy for a unique blend of flavors”
Review of Veritable Quandary - CLOSED

Veritable Quandary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: Downtown
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Say yummy to the tummy for a unique blend of flavors”
Reviewed July 1, 2013

First of all, you should make reservations as this is a very busy restaurant. And, once you eat there, you will know why. We arrived and were told it would be a 45 minute wait. Surprise! In about 10 minutes, the host found us a booth at the bar. there also is an outside dining area, the bar and the inside dining area. I had black cod which included the most delicious (and a healthy portion) of morel mushrooms. My son had a seafood soup (can't think of the name, but it was like boullibase) and it had wonderful flavors that made your tastebuds wake up. Very creative menu and worth the price you pay (you don't feel gyped like. You pay for scrumptious delicious, and this restaurant delivers.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BigDDetroit_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,688 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,176
    392
    88
    19
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Delicious summer dinner on the patio”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

The bacon wrapped dates were delicious and the salmon was cooked to perfection. As an out of towner this was well worth the visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Travellady1000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great choice for a splurge dinner when visiting Portland.”
Reviewed June 26, 2013

Our waiter helped us choose a good wine and wonderful appetizer - get the bacon wrapped figs! The rib eye was flavorful as were the onions and potatoes on my plate. Ambiance and service are fantastic.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JetBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
130 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Wow -- fabulous food, lovely setting”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This place was very nice, beautiful setting with indoor and outdoor seating, unique and delicious dishes, wonderful service. We will seek it out again next time we visit.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank cherylburnside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bremerton, WA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Drinks and appetizer - overpriced and overated”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I don't often outright pan a place, but wow, what a disappointment.

After reading other reviews, we came prepared to be impressed. We sat in the bar, as we often prefer to do. Our table was near the front door, and next to the bar. There was a very loud, boastful party at the bar, that did little to hasten our enjoyment.
When the server finally showed up (almost ten minutes after we sat down), we ordered drinks and an appetizer that was on the spendy side ($18 for some pork belly).
My drink was absolutely nothing special, my husband's Guiness was okay, but overpriced and when the food came it was the tiniest portion imaginable for the money!
We paid ($30) for our drinks and 'food' and left, vowing to never go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DebMacD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritable Quandary also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing