We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dining experience - highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Veritable Quandary - CLOSED

Veritable Quandary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighborhood: Downtown
Murphysboro, Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Excellent dining experience - highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2012

Dined here with my wife and two friends while in Portland for a conference. Food, wine, and service were all excellent. I strongly recommend Veritable Quandary if you are looking for a fine dining experience.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank diablodetasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

1,684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,173
    392
    88
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great choice!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

With two nights in Portland, we asked the hotel staff where to eat and this was the recommendation. We liked it so much we ate there both days!

Since we enjoy bar dining, this was a great spot. Snagged an end spot both days and enjoyed a variety of small plates & good wine.

Must say the most memorable dish was the fresh tuna panzanella for a late lunch - would love to re-create that dish! Also enjoyed the fig prosciutto pizza - a wonderful combination of sweet/salty/cheesy.

Really everything we had was good - liked the whole vibe of the place - the attention to quality ingredients, well-prepared & with good service - no wonder they've been around a while.

A definite stop on our next trip to Portland - a great restaurant in a great town!

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank esty2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Get the lamb!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012 via mobile

Lushious tender leg of lamb!!! The dark beer called......something Gravity was so flavorful as well. The food is garnished with eatible flowers and the atmosphere is Irish pub-like. Excellent!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank wilwag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evanston, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“The Veritable Quandry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

Is trying to figure out which of all of the amazing dishes to order. The space is lovely-sit in the garden if you can; although the interior is warm and inviting as well. Dinner was so good that we returned the next morning for brunch. The panzanella with albacore was fresh, bright and full of summer. Have the steak kabobs for brunch-so tender, you don't need a knife. Also, order extra toast. I'm not a big toast person, but, whatever they do to it, they should keep it up. Service was great and attentive, even when very busy. Will definitely go back the next time I am in Portland.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrooklynBarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
403 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

we began with a corona and a bloody mary. both hit the spot. we then ate the Heather's Veggi Burger with Lentils, Wild Mushrooms & Hazelnuts
Grilled Onion, Buttermilk Blue Cheese and Truffle Aioli
served with Renee's Greens, a very fine mixed salad, plus my partner had the BLTCO with Fried Egg
Nueskie's Smoked Bacon, Butter Lettuce, Sheldon's Heirloom Tomatoes,
Cave Aged Emmentalar & Thin Sliced Red Onion on toasted Brioche. very satisfied with the food. the server was very friendly and efficient. the outdoor space was relaxing and boasted wonderful plants and ambiance.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Teresa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Veritable Quandary also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing