We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still on top of their game”
Review of Wildwood Restaurant & Bar - CLOSED

Wildwood Restaurant & Bar
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Mediterranean, Pizza, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Cross street: NW Overton Street
Transit: Streetcar/Northrup Station
Rainier, Oregon
Level Contributor
813 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 285 helpful votes
“Still on top of their game”
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Returned to Wildwood for an anniversary dinner. Despite the changes in management (originator Cory Schreiber is no longer there), the tradition continues - fresh, unique local ingredients, prepared in the best manner. The mussels continue to be top-rank, although I would caution against the clam fritters (too much extra, not enough clam). My bride's albacore was superb, as was my lamb.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalamariverrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

171 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    46
    20
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hummelstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“First place we ate - and the one place I won't forget”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

I was in a terrible mood because we just got off a cross-country flight and planes provide little comfort to someone with my leg-length. That all melted away thanks to this place. In a town dominated by incredible edibles, Wildwood surpassed anywhere else we ate on our trip. Seated on the patio, the two of us enjoyed one starter, one soup, two entrees, 4 cocktails and a beer - $122 (plus tip). Now you don't have to spend that much but if your hotel is within walking distance, INDULGE! The seasonal cocktails are out of this world. Dinner was perfect - they boast fresh, local ingredients and they do not disappoint. Our meals were imaginative and savory. The service was knowledgeable, prompt and charming. We also had the honor of a chat with either the owner or manager - he didn't say/we didn't ask - but we learned so much about how the area developed into the mecca of food that it is now.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Boognish1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
124 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Delicious meal and great patio”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Everything we ordered (three cocktails, three apps, and four entrees) was delicious. Loved the outdoor seating! However, we waited a long time for our order to be taken after having been seated and greeted by our server.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank BSMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Everything one could want in a Portland restaurant”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

The food and atmosphere were wonderful and the service was attentive without being intrusive. Nuff said.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dobbs Ferry, New York
Level Contributor
125 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Good food but expensive”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

Food is good but the portions are small and for what they give you the prices seem a bit high. I was last there in Aug 2010 and didn't choose to return on my last visit in July 2012 because it was over priced although the food was quite good.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
Thank lara p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildwood Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing