We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top choice in Portland”
Review of Genoa - CLOSED

Genoa
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: SE 29th Ave.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Top choice in Portland”
Reviewed July 28, 2012

Everything about Genoa is top shelf. The food is excellent. The staff is attentive and friendly The cost is at the higher end for Portland, but well worth it. Genoa is the top choice for quality dining in Portland. Highly recommened.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skirooster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    5
    5
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lake Oswego, Oregon
1 review
“great”
Reviewed June 30, 2012

Not cheep, but AMAZING and totally worth the price.

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LakeORES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
“Sit Down and Have a Great Time”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

First trip to Portland, first time to Genoa.

Amazing.

We were there in mid-May, and I am vegetarian - thus I had the vegetarian May menu along with the accompanying wine course. Every piece of the menu was unique and exquisite, but the entirety of the meal was satisfying without being overwhelming. We ate for 3.5 hours, which made for a wonderful space for conversation and catching - great place for a catch-up session or romantic date.

Our waitress was nice and extremely knowledgeable about the menu - even changes in ingredients due supply shortage. Mike, the sommelier, was very social and active, and we had great, deep conversations about his wine selection within the context of the menu.

I must highly recommend the wine course with each meal. The wines really rounded out the flavor of each of the dishes nicely.

My meal:
Antipasti: Carciofini e piadina - Baby Artichoke dish
The wine pairing - Clos Roche Blanche from France - was a perfect companion to the artichoke and the horseradish yogurt. It was a sharp taste rounded out nicely by the Roche.

Primi: Gnocci di Cacio de Cabra - Gnocchi with vegetables and mushrooms
Wine pairing-Pinot Noir from local Vineyard in Oregon
Very local taste and combination of mushrooms and gnocchi made for a great robust and hearty primi.

Insalata: Insalata di Asparagi
Wine pairing - Clivi, Friulano, "Branzan"
I don't like asparagus normally - but this was an amazing dish. Morel vinaigrette made the asparaus dish especially wonderful. Wine pairing was wonderful.

Secondi: Cipolla Ripiena - Roasted sweet onion stuffed with cous-cous
Wine pairing - Vallana, Boca, Piedmonte, Italy 2004 nebiolo/vespolina/bonarda
Very exotic mix of flavors from pistachio to vegetables. Great

Wonderful ambiance and people. Highly recommended!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MannyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Very good northern Italian venue”
Reviewed April 11, 2012

A wonderful place for a leisurely, and gratifyingly luscious meal. I am very much an eager repeat offender at Genoa.

Helpful?
Thank cbgjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
130 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“An incredible experience!”
Reviewed March 30, 2012

While I had lived in Portland for almost 30 years, I had never visited Genoa even though all the reviews I had heard were excellent. Well my streak ended last Saturday evening when I dined there - why did I wait so long? They serve a fixed menu, with a vegan menu as optional, with two different wine pairing flights depending upon your budget. Service was perfectly balanced, and the food was 'over the top'. Don't miss Genoa - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gullivertravels101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Genoa also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing