We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, great food love the jambalaya”
Review of Le Bistro Montage

Le Bistro Montage
Ranked #266 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Lunch
Description: The vision of Jon Beckel, Le Bistro Montage's founder, was to have a place where everyone could enjoy themselves and have a great meal. He hit the mark with Le Bistro Montage. Founded in 1992 in a converted taco stand, it soon moved to it's present location at 301 SE Morrison. On a shoestring budget, Jon and staff created a one of a kind place where, when you step in the door, you're not quite sure where you are. Its quirky decor, including huge paintings, a poster pulled off the Berlin Wall, decadent fresh flowers, tin cans pounded into the floor, and long, linen-covered tables, Creates an atmosphere that draws all types and guarantees a great time.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, great food love the jambalaya”
Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

Our bartender was great. The food and atomosphere was very nice.This was our first stop on our west coast trip to Cali

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamaicaman15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    100
    38
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richland, Washington
Level Contributor
200 reviews
148 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Late Night - This Place is Right”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Mac and Cheese,
yes Please,
Add Spam,
Yes Mam!

Mixed Drink
Give a wink
Alligator
See ya Later

Foil Swan
I'm done

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Coug8491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Le Bistro Montage”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

Went for dinner on Saturday. Because of this, arrived at 5:15 and were the first in line. They opened promptly at 6, and we were seated immediately. We started the meal with the mussel and oyster shooters-delicious! I ordered the house special linguini, and my husband had the jambalaya with shrimp and andouille. Both were delicious, spicy but not overpowering. Huge portions! Water was always filled but the waiter was a bit absent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ErinReisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Food Good, Attitude Crap”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We were trying to kill some time before a late night flight and we stopped here for dinner, drinks and Yahtzee. Thank God for the games and half price bottles of wine, because the bartender in the lounge was miserable and ultimately awkward to sit near at the bar. We moved ourselves to a table until we decided to wrap up and move to the dining room. We ordered the craw fish hush puppies (amazing) and two different types of mac and cheese, both were good. I would absolutely return to the dining side.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Packrats0828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Everything I tried was delicious”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Had dinner here at the recommendation of a local and loved every bite. I ordered the gumbo with Andouille sausage and practically licked the bowl clean. When a friend couldn't finish her mac and cheese, I offered to slurp the rest of it up. Another friend couldn't finish her linguini and I practically inhaled it. The were both delicious. I have heard that the later it gets, the rowdier the customers and the poorer the food quality, so I advise arriving for dinner no later than 8 PM.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro Montage also viewed

 

Been to Le Bistro Montage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing