We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun times in Portland”
Review of Le Bistro Montage

Le Bistro Montage
Ranked #249 of 4,276 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $5 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Parking Available, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The vision of Jon Beckel, Le Bistro Montage's founder, was to have a place where everyone could enjoy themselves and have a great meal. He hit the mark with Le Bistro Montage. Founded in 1992 in a converted taco stand, it soon moved to it's present location at 301 SE Morrison. On a shoestring budget, Jon and staff created a one of a kind place where, when you step in the door, you're not quite sure where you are. Its quirky decor, including huge paintings, a poster pulled off the Berlin Wall, decadent fresh flowers, tin cans pounded into the floor, and long, linen-covered tables, Creates an atmosphere that draws all types and guarantees a great time.
Brownsburg, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fun times in Portland”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Had a really great time here the Saturday before Halloween. Lots of people were in costume, and everyone seemed to be having a great time.

The atmosphere is very relaxed, so if you're uptight and looking for a quiet, romantic dinner, this is not the place. If you have a group and are looking for fun, come here.

The wine list is decent, with plenty of less expensive choices. I thought the prices for entrees, etc, were very low. I had the shrimp linguini and could eat about half. My friend had the half & half mac n cheese and said it was still pretty spicy. All 5 of us liked our food.

The big portions come in handy, cause when you're done, they wrap your food in foil and make a sculpture out of it. My daughter was dressed as a mermaid, and her food was wrapped to look like a mermaid!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TSTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    99
    38
    16
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
293 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Bad food and bad service”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Service was bad, food was worse.

We asked for a Famous Shrimp Linguini, Oyster Shooters, and Spicy Mac and Cheese with Chicken and Vegetables.

We got burned Shrimp Linguine (badly burned noodles), Oyster shooters that are 90% cocktail sauce and 10% oyster...they were nasty, and a Mac and Cheese with broccoli and chicken instead of a spicy one with vegetables (vegetables and broccoli were separate options).

Service took forever and food was genuinely crap, bland food that is then overly seasoned to compensate for that. Too much salt, too much cajun spice.

Cool atmosphere though.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank treepondersleaf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Something for everyone.”
Reviewed September 26, 2012

The venue itself is terrific..everywhere you look something different..loved the menu ..the food was an unusual take on some classics but everything was big enough to share which made it fun...long family style tables so you could see many dishes prior to ordering..service was very friendly and we love the way they prepared the leftovers..a really nice touch..would go back for sure..

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Willis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
75 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“So good you know it's good.”
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

One of the those places you know will be exciting. Good creole food and servers you can tell are happy. This is a gem in Portland.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Patrick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Late night dinner”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

This place is hands-down my favorite place in Portland. Not only is the food amazing but the atmosphere is pretty dang cool. The service more than likely always sucks, but the food and everything else makes up for it. I love the pesto pasta and alligator bites. They seat you next to random people and late at night after a few beverages you can make new friends. I love Montage and love taking guests there that havenever been. A must visit for sure!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristylou99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Bistro Montage also viewed

 

Been to Le Bistro Montage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing