We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old school and authentic”

Fuller's Restaurant
Ranked #409 of 4,917 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Diner, Deli
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Pearl
Reviewed November 22, 2015 via mobile

I wish I could give this place six stars as I loved it for what it is (read: not gourmet). While unoriginal it was as good as any traditional hot breakfast I've ever had. Omelet had just the right amount of ingredients, was not oversized and cooked just right. Hash browns were just the way I like them - nice and crispy on the outside and creamy in the middle. Coffee was ordinary but refreshing in this day of Starbucks overkill. I even splurged on a blueberry pancake which was amazing meaning fluffy and not bready like most places. The atmosphere was very authentic diner (to call it retro would not honor its 50+ year roots). If you love a good straight breakfast like I do find this place.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank tarheeltraveler367
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (70)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 70 reviews

Reviewed November 14, 2015

Ahh, breakfast. Partner struggled to finish two huge blueberry pancakes while my gluten intolerance had me selecting side order of two scrambled eggs and serve of peaches. Staff busy but friendly. Layout had extensive lengthy counter shaped to offer easy access to waitstaff. Some outside seating available too.

Date of visit: July 2015
Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2015 via mobile

We visited for lunch and enjoyed our food. She had pancakes and hash browns and I had a fish sandwich with coleslaw and fruit. The food was yummy and old school. The setup is counters and stools and cool.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank robertmoffett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2015

The neon clock sign inside says "Est. 1947" and it appears that the old-style diner has certainly been around for a long time. To quell any concerns, though, the counter looks new and the place is clean and has been well maintained. The staff is friendly. Breakfast can be ordered throughout the day. The food is plentiful. And there were plenty of open seats at the counter during lunch. For $9.25 I got chicken fried ground beef with gravy over the meat and a large scoop of mashed potatoes, green beans, buttered toast and a bowl of salad. The ground beef wasn't particularly high quality, but for the price it was right. There aren't any tables, so it doesn't make for good business meetings, but for one or two people, it's just fine.

Date of visit: November 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Eugene F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2015

This is a very local straight forward place to grab a good old fashion breakfast.

Everyone sits on a stool at the counter, so don't plan on table service.

The food is solid, the service is good, but "Cash Only". So be prepared.

Not a place to miss if you want a good breakfast that will set up for a day of checking out the city, going for a hike, or watch football on the couch.

Date of visit: October 2015
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JamesP205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fuller's Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Fuller's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing