We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely view, good food”

McCormick & Schmick's Harborside at the Marina
Reserve with OpenTable
McCormick & Schmick's Harborside at the Marina is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #169 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: SW River
Transit: The Portland Street car stops one block from our door.
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely view, good food”
Reviewed April 11, 2014

With floor to ceiling windows and a tiered dining room, most tables have a nice view of the river and marina. The menu has a broad selection of mostly fresh caught fish and seafood. We were seated promptly, and had excellent service throughout the meal. We enjoyed beer-battered fish and chips, and a fresh salmon and artichoke fettucine with pesto cream sauce, along with some mojito-like drinks. Next time I'll have one of the fresh fish grilled.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank EugeneGypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    141
    74
    31
    35
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Redwood City, California
Level Contributor
257 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Great as usual, but with Oregon fish”
Reviewed April 8, 2014

We were familiar with the menu from our local restaurants, but they were using local seafood, so the choices were a bit different from San Francisco. Really excellent mussels were our starter. My wife had tilapia tacos while I had the coconut shrimp. Nice choice of local beers. View of the bridges and Willamette River. Despite some other comments, we have been McCormick & Schmick's patrons for years and have never known them to serve anything but fresh fish. Of course, when dealing with scallops, unless they specifically say Day Boat, you probably want to choose something else. Our lunch staff was helpful and friendly. Right on the riverside wal which is a great way to get there.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank paneb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“OK as a seafood place”
Reviewed March 26, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

The place is easy to find and there's enough parking around. At 4pm on Sunday it wasn't crowded at all inside, too. I went for a "special" seafood grilled plate but aside from the gigantic scallops which tasted awful and resembled a watery fish it was just slightly above average.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Quincy23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Insulting service, so-so food, inflated prices”
Reviewed March 23, 2014 via mobile

The menu should have clued us in: Atlantic (frozen) salmon being sold in the Pacific NW and a burger advertised with "Kobe-style" beef. But the service was truly the worst part of the over-priced meal. The waiter tried to tell us that Atlantic salmon was the only salmon available in the NW. (Yeah, right.) Then, despite the presence of bread plates on the tables and a lengthy wait for our meals, we were given no bread. The salt was in the pepper shaker, causing one of us to oversalt their steak. Another member of our party was first given a plate with only a vegetable side on it, then was told the kitchen had "forgotten to put the entree" on her plate, THEN was told that she had been given the wrong dish entirely. I was given 4 spears of asparagus and a not-really-grilled tomato as sides; another person at the table was given 3 asparagus spears and a small dollop of mashed potatoes. When she asked for bigger side helpings, she was asked "Don't you have enough food there?" And when I pointed out to the waiter at the end of the meal that we had been given no bread, he snottily offered to bring some from the kitchen so we could take it with us. We noticed as we left that no other table he served had been given bread. The waiter's answer to all our questions about the menu was "That's the way corporate wants it." The food was not bad, but not worth $30 a plate. We left, went to the nearby Klimpton hotel for dessert, and were there treated to much better service. My advice is to avoid McCormick & Schmick restaurants. I will never go to another one.

Helpful?
Thank Andie70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
91 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great Waterfront Dining in Portland”
Reviewed March 22, 2014

We arrived on a beautiful, warm & sunny Saturday afternoon. We chose to sit in the lounge area instead of the dining room, the difference being the lack of white tablecloths. The lounge area was busy but not crowded, with a great view of the Marina and the river. My wife ordered the Grilled Salmon entrée and I ordered the luncheon portion of the Crab Cake. Both were cooked perfectly. The Crab Cake was full of crabmeat and very little bread, which is rarely the case in most restaurants. The Salmon came with an ample portion of garlic mashed potatoes and asparagus. We paired our meals with an Acrobat (Eugene, Oregon) Pinot Gris. For dessert we shared a delicious and warm Caramel Upside Down Apple Pie with Cinnamon Ice Cream. The lunch menu also has a wide variety of seafood, salads, sandwiches and other American fare.

We found the service to be prompt, courteous and friendly, the atmosphere perfect for a Saturday lunch and the food preparation and presentation to be excellent.

This restaurant is part of the Landry’s national chain, owners of Chart House, Jake’s Grill, Jake’s Crawfish, and Morton’s Steakhouse, among others.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmcneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McCormick & Schmick's Harborside at the Marina also viewed

 

Been to McCormick & Schmick's Harborside at the Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing