We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My fave in PDX, allergy-friendly”
Review of The Vita Cafe

The Vita Cafe
Ranked #318 of 4,343 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating
Seattle, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“My fave in PDX, allergy-friendly”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

three words, people: spicy. tempeh. sticks.

damn they're SO good! i had lunch here 3 days in a row and the food was soooo good. recommendations: spicy tempeh sticks (after 4pm), chopped salad (after 4pm), seitan cheese steak sandwich, chicken fried "steak," corn cakes. the vegan blt is pretty good, too. they make their own vegan ranch dressing! yum. that's all. just yum. i eat here at least twice every time i'm in portland.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank marla5575
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    38
    7
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kovalam, India
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“west coast home cooking”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Here's where you get the healthy version of west coast home style cooking in a laid back, down to earth atmosphere. The location right on Alberta Street is an added attraction, it asks for an after dinner stroll up and down the strip.

Don't be shy to order a veggie burger, it's the real deal. Otherwise I suggest my favorite: Tempeh-Broccoli on brown rice....jummy.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muringa v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Des Moines, Iowa, United States
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
“Best meal we had in Portland!”
Reviewed October 19, 2012

There are so many reasons to love this place: the casual, nonjudgmental attitude of staff and diners alike. We saw old couples, young couples, a family celebrating a birthday, a group of pierced, tattooed college students and a group of men in suits, among others. The décor is funky and eclectic, a small but cozy space. The restaurant is committed to using organic, local produce and ethically-raised, hormone free meat, eggs and dairy. They make nearly everything in house, from the tempah to the seitan to the pasta, and it’s reasonably priced with an incredibly varied menu. The staff is helpful and not at all about turning and burning-our server filled our drinks while we talked after the meal and didn’t make us feel rushed to pay and exit as fast as possible.

But the best part? The food was DELICIOUS. I had a vegan veggie burger with cheese and caramelized onions and my fiancé had a free range jimbo burger. We were each going to get fries, but our helpful server told us one serving could easily be shared by two people and she was completely right, saving us some cash. Not only did my fiancé say the burger was probably one of the best he’s had in his life, the fries were out of this world good. They were hand cut, kinda thick and clearly made in house. No frozen bags of pre-cuts in this place and we wound up wishing we lived in Portland just so we could return daily for a taste of those fries.

We ate at a lot of places in Portland and had some great meals. But this casual little café turned out the best meal we had in the city. Tasty, inexpensive, great service and ethics I can really get behind. As a vegetarian engaged to a meat eater, we don’t often find a restaurant that pleases us both equally. Either I’m forming a meal out of side dishes and appetizers or he’s trying to make the best of a flavored faux meat substitute. Vita Café proved to be a rare exception, offering both vegetarian and humanely-raised meat dishes that left us both satisfied and extremely pleased with our entire experience.

http://www.vita-cafe.com

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Melindalou7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Delicious; excellent service”
Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a phenomenal server who made great recommendations. The food was delicious. We came across this one on Alberta St. by accident and considered going again for lunch the next day! In the end we decided to try as many different places as possible while in Portland - what a great food city - but this one was top of the list.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank theveganversion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Delicious Vegan Fare”
Reviewed August 30, 2012

Hard to find vegan food this tasty. Great discounts for kids. We ate there two times in 2 days. Their vegan buffalo "things" and super healthy salad w/nuts seeds and guac, and fake chicken fried steak were great. Desserts were off the charts.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank YellowRoseBecky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Vita Cafe also viewed

 

Been to The Vita Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing