We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great night with Friends”

Ringside Steakhouse
Reserve with OpenTable
Ringside Steakhouse is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #51 of 4,276 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: NW 22nd
Transit: Walking distance from/to PGE Park MAX Station (renamed Jeld-Wen Field). Bus Routes: 15-Belmont/NW 23rd, 18-Hillside & 20-Burnside/Stark Tri-met Stop ID 747 at W Burnside & NW King in Portland Westbound. Tri-met Stop ID 749 W Burnside & SW 21st in Portland Eastbound
Portland Oregon
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great night with Friends”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

Went to this resturant two weeks ago with friends for their thirty year anniversary. It was a perfect time, food was wonderful and Scott who was our waiter went out of his way to make sure all was perfect. We had a set menu and it was really good and the portions plenty. Good selection of wine and cocktails, and lovely desserts a great night.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank suzyPortlandOregon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

485 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    309
    109
    41
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
463 reviews
135 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 338 helpful votes
“Very good food, excellent service, nice atmosphere”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Dinner reservations made for Friday, 5pm. We arrived and were met by the Valet who took charge of our car. We were seated immediately and our drink order taken. Be sure and have an order of their famous onion rings as an appetizer! After our dinner order was taken, we finished off our drinks and the onion rings just in time for the main courses ordered. Prime rib for me, seafood pasta for my wife and a rib steak for our friend. Plates were HOT so pay attention when they arrive! All our meals were very good, prepared as asked. As to pricing, this is an expensive restaurant. YOU make up your mind if it's worth it. For the three of us, the total came to $180.00 before tip. Although the food is very good, it's not what I would qualify as "excellent" and the price is on the steep side. Still, if you're looking for a good steak house and the price doesn't really matter, this is the place for you to go!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank OregonStrider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
101 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Sinatra visits Portland”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Great steak house with great food and service. Atmosphere makes think of the sort of place Hollywood stars used as hang outs in the 1940s and 1950s.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Leonard L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, Usa
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Special Event - Outstanding without that!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Ever want to feel very special and respected! Call here for reservations. Our menus were specially printed! Everyone was alerted, low keyed wished me a happy birthday. NOT ONE OF THOSE - everyone is staring - I'd like to disappear.
The food! I rarely overeat. Actually eating is not my 'thing'. I just wish they offered a smaller portion. I had to finish - left overs are not the same.
I so wanted their onion rings. I just couldn't - my husband would not eat. Their onion soup! Wow, best ever to this old lady! I know, why meal stuffed me.
I can't wait to try their lunch. My husband insists I try it. I have invited a friend.
I really think this will be worth it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Formal prices, casual atmosphere”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were seated almost 15 minutes after our reserved time so they gave us onion rings in consolation. Their appearance alone might give you a heart condition. But we threw caution to the winds and munched on them. Tasty, but not great. Add some of the orangey sauce.

RingSide is not an elegant spot, despite the $50 steaks. The majority of customers were wearing jeans, and some sported baseball caps. The waiters are in black tie, however.

We had the New York steaks. They were grilled exactly as requested, although with a slightly flat taste. Some well-made Béarnaise fixed that. We got good advice on a bottle of Oregon pinot noir from the wine steward—who commendably didn't urge on us the more expensive offerings. Our waiter was friendly and professional; just right, in fact.

This is certainly one of the best steakhouses in Portland, so think of it when you need steak. Wear your cowboy hat just for the fun of it.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank VRGFToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ringside Steakhouse also viewed

 

Been to Ringside Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing