We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rediscovering A Neighborhood Gem”
Review of Wild Abandon

Wild Abandon
Ranked #909 of 4,317 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: American, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Rediscovering A Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed February 26, 2013

This is in our neighborhood and when our son was little (now in college) we ate breakfast here every weekend. Then the son grew and weekends became soccer and basketball days. We empty nesters are able to eat breakfast out again so headed back to Wild Abandon. It is not as good as I remember.....IT IS BETTER!!! The menu is very interesting and had so many excellent choices that we are heading back this next weekend to sample other offerings. The biscuits were light and fluffy, the featured bakery item was a raspberry scone...amazing. My eggs were cooked perfect. The portions are generous and coffee just kept coming. The atmosphere is funky and fun, the price a bargain. Too cold in the winter to be out on the huge deck but looking forward to summer. Was pleased that the great standards are still on the menu, the Willamette Dream salad and their garlicky Caesar Salad! The fact that they have a parking lot on this crowded part of Belmont is a bonus for those who do not live in the neighborhood. Happy Hour starts at 4:30 and there is a bountiful Happy Hour food menu that is inexpensive and good. All around a great place for breakfast, dinner or drinks!

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tjb5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    18
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Henderson, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“neighborhood eats”
Reviewed February 21, 2013

This restaurant is right around the corner from my home so I try to frequent it at least once a month in the summer when I'm around. The food is always top rate and almost always order any special - especially the fish - when possible. the chocolate cake is heavenly-very dense-we never can resist no matter how full we are! The service is always wonderful-always eat on the back patio-great ambience and just an overall great neighborhood restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bridgegoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tigard, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Neighborhood Gem”
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

Recent birthday celebration was made successful due to great food and outstanding service . The specials were tasty and ample. Would recommend this to a friend .

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Carpetguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Been Around for a Long Time and Still Good”
Reviewed October 11, 2012

This remains a great place for Happy Hour, particularly out on the back patio. The food is excellent and the service is very efficient and friendly. This was one of the pioneer restaurants in SE Portland and continues to provide a nice atmosphere and reasonably priced good food.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Drkbjk46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
596 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 529 helpful votes
“Enjoyable wild salmon dinner on the outdoor garden patio”
Reviewed July 23, 2012

My wife and I ate at Wild Abandon with our daughter and her boyfriend during our trip to Portland in July. We sat on the outdoor garden patio on a pleasant evening which was actually a little cool before we finished our dinner. It is under the trees and has several umbrellas. I started with a cup of mulligatawny soup, which was very tasty. My wife and I each had the grilled wild salmon with rice and vegetables. The salmon was excellent. Our dinner was very enjoyable on the garden patio.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Wild Abandon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing