We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best crabcakes in Portland”
Review of Navarre

Navarre
Ranked #333 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $21 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch
Clackamas Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
187 reviews
142 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Best crabcakes in Portland”
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Navarre has a "we choose" option where the chef selects your meal. Our party of four selected that and we recieved a lot of very tasty food. The crabcakes are wonderful, long on big chunks of flavorful fresh crab. Many of the other dishes were very good, the lamb was tasty and melt in the mouth tender, the pate, vegetables, and bread topnotch. The fresh greens ordinary. At $32.00 a person it is more than I usually spend but a reasonable value. Service was good but not as good as some better local restaurants. Located in an area of many popular Portland restaurants. Evening street parking not too hard.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JurgisRudkus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    50
    39
    8
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
90 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Our favorite restaurant in PDX”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

We make several trips to Portland each year and one stop we always make is dinner at Navarre. I've eaten at most of the trendy restaurants in Portland and Navarre is my absolute favorite. Unlike many hip restaurants, it always feels casual and welcoming. The food, which is always changing depending on what they receive from a CSA they work with, is inventive and delicious. The wine list is fantastic -- I've never had a less than wonderful glass. They focus on food from France, Spain, Italy and now Morocco. Their bread and olive oil is fantastic, as are their crab cakes. They once had a halibut with alioli that was to die for. Deserts are also great -- love the dark chocolate mousse. Yum.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank foodie66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
613 reviews
394 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Quintessential Portland”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Visiting from the East Coast for a few days, my wife and I tried numerous Portland eateries, and enjoyed all but one of them (a breakfast joint out on the East side not worth mentioning here.) Navarre we enjoyed very much, particularly the bottle of red wine from Languedoc that the waitress worked real hard to find. As for the food, we had five small plates, plus bread, and couldn't finish it all. All was delicious, particularly the lentils.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank abecedarius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Localvore hangout”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

This was right down the street from our B&B and was probably the best dining experience of the trip. The food is fresh and local and the service unpretentious. I won't even tell you what we had since it changes so frequently, but grab a seat at the bar and watch the cooks work their magic in a small space. For those expecting a local wine list, ask for recommendations with their Euro-centric selections and be pleasantly surprised by something like an Italian Arneis (full-bodied, white).

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Peregrin8or
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Very quirky”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The menu is very confusing until explained but the food is good and the staff is very helpful. This is a very casual family type of place (though not cheap); not somewhere to go for a romantic dinner.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckaroo52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Navarre also viewed

 
 

Been to Navarre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing