We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lunch with Flare”
Review of Andina Restaurant

Andina Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Andina Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pearl
Cross street: 13th
Transit: Portland Streetcar: 10th/Glisan (Northbound to NW 23rd) and 11th/Glisan (Southbound to PSU)
Description: Andina draws inspiration from the native culinary traditions of Peru, as well as from the contemporary cooking by some of Peru’s leading chefs. Owner Doris Rodriguez de Platt, collaborates with Andina’s kitchen team to develop a menu that celebrates her family’s Andean roots, interweaving the ideas and techniques of both Criollo and Novo-Andean cuisines. The kitchen sources native and local ingredients to create dishes at once traditionally rooted and personally inspired. Founded in 2003, Andina emerged as one of the region’s leading Peruvian restaurants and continues to generate wide appeal within the food communities in and around Portland, and much further afield.
Kalama, WA
Level Contributor
71 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Lunch with Flare”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Lunch for four and all the food was interesting, delicious, and had that extra flare in appearance. Service was just what we wanted - attentive but not fawning. Peruvian food that was great.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Thales29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,488 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,777
    517
    138
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Bravo...”
Reviewed September 1, 2013

When a restaurant comes so highly rated, it is often the case that the experience does not live up to expectations. Such was not the case with Andina. My partner and I had a one night stay over in Portland on our way to the Oregon Coast and the suggestions from friends and colleagues was that we try Andina! We booked a table through our hotel concierge (it was only 30 minutes till closing) and we quickly found a taxi to make the quick trip from The Nines!

The total experience was exceptional from Matthew, our server, who had grown up with the proprietors and who shared the entire story of Andina with us. Our dinner was delicious in each and every course - I cannot exactly remember what we ate - just that it was all delicious and unique.

We will return - what a perfect evening spent at Andina!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jdece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
252 reviews
168 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Quite delicious”
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Visted here based on reviews from this site. Things started off a bit rough. Upon our arrival we were asked if we had a reservation. We replied that we did not. we were told that the restaurant was booked until 9pm. We were about to turn and leave when we were told if we went to a different host stand we could be seated immediately. Why bother with the other infor? Do yu have a table or not? It is a big place with an upstairs and downstairs dining. Upstairs for reservations, downstairs for not. Give it a try. We enjoyed what we had. Small plates are a great way to go anywhere and the food here was very good. We would certainly return again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nmbiela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A happy hour to repeat”
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Fortunate to get a table during a weekend happy hour and very glad we did. We shared a few delicious tapas plates with some wine. Excellent service and food.
Also great to meet the owner who made a point of visiting many tables to ensure that everything was just right.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lighty1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California, USA
Level Contributor
118 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Fun atmosphere and good food, a great combination”
Reviewed August 22, 2013

A group of us went to thei restaurant and we had a great time. We ordered all kinds of things on the menu and split most of them. The service was great and we all enjoyed the food. It was inventive and unique.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing