We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Andina Restaurant

Andina Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Andina Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 4,292 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pearl
Cross street: 13th
Transit: Portland Streetcar: 10th/Glisan (Northbound to NW 23rd) and 11th/Glisan (Southbound to PSU)
Description: Andina draws inspiration from the native culinary traditions of Peru, as well as from the contemporary cooking by some of Peru’s leading chefs. Owner Doris Rodriguez de Platt, collaborates with Andina’s kitchen team to develop a menu that celebrates her family’s Andean roots, interweaving the ideas and techniques of both Criollo and Novo-Andean cuisines. The kitchen sources native and local ingredients to create dishes at once traditionally rooted and personally inspired. Founded in 2003, Andina emerged as one of the region’s leading Peruvian restaurants and continues to generate wide appeal within the food communities in and around Portland, and much further afield.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Great Place”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

A class act. Staff was extremely helpful explaining the menu items, food was beautifully presented and very delicious! The beer and wine selection is awesome.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jack992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,776
    516
    138
    37
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Portland Peruvian”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

We had never had Peruvian cuisine before, & really didn't know what to expect; this place was a very pleasant surprise. The food was excellent! We decided on several small plates: grilled Diver scallops with tamari brown sugar butter sauce & crispy onions; grilled octopus kabobs w chimichurri & caper majado de papo; tartare of filet mignon with capers, olives, cilantro & quail egg; cebiche of fresh fish; roasted red & golden beets, pickled vegetables & sesame oil, with green sauce. Our server was pleasant, knowledgeable & attentive, couldn't have been better. The atmosphere was very nice; we found downstairs quite noisy, but the dining area upstairs was quieter & pleasant in every way.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Curtis V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent Ambiance&Food”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Great flavors and very nice Ambiance, I would have to say one of the best Peruvian restaurants in the Northwest.. The service is outstanding!

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level Contributor
42 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Minority Review - our meal was not good”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We loved the ambiance (though it is a bit noisy) and the house cocktails were delicious. In the end we wished we had ordered several tapas for our meal. As it was, we both ordered their Peruvian duck specialty which was very disappointing. We ordered it medium rare - and it was medium on the outside and raw on the inside. It was topped by a salsa in which the red onions had gone off and were overpowering as only old onions can be. The duck was served on a bed of seasoned rice that was so salty it was almost inedible (and I am a salt lover).

My husband and I dined here on a Sunday evening and perhaps we had the 2nd string chef at the grill. Were I to go again I would stick with cocktails and tapas.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VickiD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level Contributor
687 reviews
275 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
“Don't miss it”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is a great place. The food is terrific and you have your choice of tapas or entrees. The menu is quite varied. The wine list is adequate with fair prices and there are some excellent beers that are not usually served. The atmosphere is outstanding, from the decor to the strains of guitar. The service was excellent.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kupunakane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing