We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peruvian in the Pearl”
Review of Andina Restaurant

Andina Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Andina Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4,341 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pearl
Cross street: 13th
Transit: Portland Streetcar: 10th/Glisan (Northbound to NW 23rd) and 11th/Glisan (Southbound to PSU)
Description: Andina draws inspiration from the native culinary traditions of Peru, as well as from the contemporary cooking by some of Peru’s leading chefs. Owner Doris Rodriguez de Platt, collaborates with Andina’s kitchen team to develop a menu that celebrates her family’s Andean roots, interweaving the ideas and techniques of both Criollo and Novo-Andean cuisines. The kitchen sources native and local ingredients to create dishes at once traditionally rooted and personally inspired. Founded in 2003, Andina emerged as one of the region’s leading Peruvian restaurants and continues to generate wide appeal within the food communities in and around Portland, and much further afield.
Harwood, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Peruvian in the Pearl”
Reviewed January 7, 2013

Andina is very well deserving of its top rating. My wife, daughter and granddaughter had lunch in December and thoroughly enjoyed it. We each had two small plates and our granddaughter had one, a fried shrimp dish which she looked. Although all our choices were delicious, the Empanadas de Carne (flaky pastry filled with slow-cooked beef, raisins, and Botija olives) and the Palta Rellena de Cangrejo (avocado stuffed with crab, topped with a poached prawn) deserve special mention. The service was excellent with the wait staff attendant and knowledgeable. The restaurant was full during the lunch hour and all seemed to be enjoying themselves. The motif is well done in a Peruvian style. We highly recommend Andina on your next trip to Portland.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,858
    533
    140
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“World class Peruvian”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We have eaten in Peruvian restaurants in Santiago Chile, San Francisco and Madison Wisconsin, love Peruvian cuisine and seek it out, so when this place was recommended, we eagerly agreed. We can't wait til we re back in Portland to go again. we were there for Happy Hour and just ate small plates....everything we had was excellent, including one of the most delicious causas we have ever had. excellent pisco sours, antichuco de corason, cebiche....If everything else on the menu is as good, well, what can I say....worth a special trip.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRwisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington State
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A great dining experience”
Reviewed January 4, 2013

Wonderful wait staff, eager to answer any questions (we had a lot) and so very patience. Drinks came quickly. Them came the food. Exquisite tastes and smells. Mouth watering. And so good. We recommend to all who enjoy food in Portland

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank twopickypeople
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good food, nice place”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Went here for New Year, the atmosphere was good and overall the food is solid South American fare. Food presentation lacks somewhat but the taste is good, if not great when compared with South American restaurants I've been to in Miami. The place itself is pretty nice with a Cantina style theme but I wouldn't describe it as a romantic setting. Staff and Service were exemplary and overall it was a nice enjoyable night at a reasonable price

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Seat62A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, OR, USA
Level 6 Contributor
97 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
“Some problems . . .”
Reviewed December 31, 2012

We had drinks at the bar before being seated for dinner. The drinks were good, but $10.50 for an Old Fashioned is steep. We were treated with friendly courtesy by everybody - no exceptions. However, there were problems. First glitch was the lighting at our table. My wife and I both have good reading vision, but we had to pass the table candle back and forth in order to read our small-print menus. (We noticed that the directional lighting above our table had some burned out bulbs.) The second glitch was a long delay between courses. Our server said there had been a miscommunication in the kitchen, and apparently there was, because we waited a very long time. The third glitch was in the dinner special for that evening ordered by my wife: it had a huge amount of fat. Overall, this just didn't work out particularly well.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank hcajones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing