We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great Food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Andina Restaurant

Andina Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Andina Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #3 of 4,167 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $80
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Bar scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pearl
Cross street: 13th
Transit: Portland Streetcar: 10th/Glisan (Northbound to NW 23rd) and 11th/Glisan (Southbound to PSU)
Description: Andina draws inspiration from the native culinary traditions of Peru, as well as from the contemporary cooking by some of Peru’s leading chefs. Owner Doris Rodriguez de Platt, collaborates with Andina’s kitchen team to develop a menu that celebrates her family’s Andean roots, interweaving the ideas and techniques of both Criollo and Novo-Andean cuisines. The kitchen sources native and local ingredients to create dishes at once traditionally rooted and personally inspired. Founded in 2003, Andina emerged as one of the region’s leading Peruvian restaurants and continues to generate wide appeal within the food communities in and around Portland, and much further afield.
Valparaiso, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Luckily we got to the restaurant around 6PM. They gave us a table and said we would have to vacate it at 8:30 (but they would not rush us out). I can see why. . . the place was jammed on a Friday night by 7:30. GREAT FOOD!! All sorts of things to try. It is like a tapas restaurant only the portions are not too small. Four of us ordered several items and we shared them. Great flavors. I have never had Peruvian food and now we are looking for a Peruvian restaurant near Chicago. Definitely try this one.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Denise M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,589
    471
    121
    36
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
77 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

This place is special because it is modern and yet keeps the traditions and flavors of the Andes. From what I've hear, the owners invite young chefs from their native Peru to take their version of nouveau-Peruvian cuisine to us. The staff is knowledgeable and provides great service. One thing to consider is that it gets very busy on the Friday and weekend evenings. Reservation is a good idea.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank gkaragat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“The Best Restaurant in PDX”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

The steak was amazing, the drinks were fantastic, the service was terrific. I would eat there every day if my body and wallet could handle the wear and tear.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank TrippedOut72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
65 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lots of Fun and Very Good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012

This is a very lively and popular Peruvian tapas restaurant. We tried more dishes than we could finish, but liked everyone of them. We had found Portland dull until we went to Andino and also discovered the surrounding area which reminded us a little of Greenwich Village. We highly recommend it. Furthermore, the staff was extremely helpful in calling us a taxi to take us back to our hotel.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank CT-and-JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
93 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Top Dining in Portland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is the ideal spot for out of town business visitors. Creative choices with unique South American flavors. Serves a variety of meat, seafood, and fowl dishes. Nicely presented and cooked to perfection. Personally enjoyed a quinoa salad that was outstanding followed by pork loin cooked just as requested. Excellent. Others enjoyed scallops and duck. Finally, a lengthy quality wine list to pair with your meal. This is my third visit, not my last for sure, an each time is better than the last. Give Andina a try.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Fototrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing