We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wild ride for the senses”
Review of Andina Restaurant

Andina Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Andina Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 4,343 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $80
Cuisines: Peruvian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Bar scene, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Private Dining, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Pearl
Cross street: 13th
Transit: Portland Streetcar: 10th/Glisan (Northbound to NW 23rd) and 11th/Glisan (Southbound to PSU)
Description: Andina draws inspiration from the native culinary traditions of Peru, as well as from the contemporary cooking by some of Peru’s leading chefs. Owner Doris Rodriguez de Platt, collaborates with Andina’s kitchen team to develop a menu that celebrates her family’s Andean roots, interweaving the ideas and techniques of both Criollo and Novo-Andean cuisines. The kitchen sources native and local ingredients to create dishes at once traditionally rooted and personally inspired. Founded in 2003, Andina emerged as one of the region’s leading Peruvian restaurants and continues to generate wide appeal within the food communities in and around Portland, and much further afield.
Vancouver, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Wild ride for the senses”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

My husband and I had heard nothing but good things when it came to Andina and it completely lived up to our expectations. We each chose meals that were familiar but upon consumption our preconceived notion about flavor were blown. Each item on the plate had a unique twist that was both surprising and delicious. Our service was perfect and you could not ask for a more knowledgeable wait staff. We will be back to try many of the interesting and new items on the menu very soon!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Alex O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,591 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,859
    533
    141
    39
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Enterprise, Oregon, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Delicious nuovo cuisine”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

Andina specializes in nuovo south american cuisine and the menu is imaginative and delicious. Tremendous wine selection. Great seafood offerings. Everything full of flavors and unique. Our server was outstanding as well. The only reason it's not a full five stars is the restaurant noise level is quite high. Hard to have much conversation without nearly yelling to the other two people at our table. Be sure to make a reservation, they often fill up during the dinner hour. Recommended for a special occasion, otherwise a bit pricey.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PanZora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and Service”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Excellent food. I had the empanadas and the quinoa with truffle oil. It was amazing. Can't wait to go back

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Diego H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“always an amazing meal”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

every time I visit andina I'm surprised at the personal attention & the food keeps getting better. I love their signature cocktails & they have a more than substantial gluten free dedicated menu. I especially love visiting while the owner mama Doris is there, she makes rounds & visits her guests to thank them & wish them a wonderful meal. I only wish I could afford to visit more often, but if you go during happy hour & order off the tapas menu, you can do quite reasonably. love the chicharrones de langostino & the anticucho de pollo.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Celia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“NuvoPeruvian and a great atmosphere”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

Rave reviews and friends suggested this fun and classy restaurant. Well located, this place has great food, atmosphere and staff. Tasty appies and a wide selection of mains makes this a great place for people who may want to try something new or eat a a more known dish. The staff are really professional, yet friendly. We had two appies, mains and three drinks, with a 20% tip, the total was under a $100!

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darkmisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Andina Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Andina Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing