We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Gravy to die for” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Byways Cafe

Byways Cafe
Ranked #57 of 4,238 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Pearl
Northern California
Level Contributor
126 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Gravy to die for”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

Stopped here for it's retro appeal and it didn't disappoint - the decor is 40's-50's diner - lot's of cheesy items that you would pick up on a family vacation.

Service was excellant - literally let the waitress bring us what she thought was good.

I had the Hash - very large serving and was ok - i've had better, but very respectable.

My friend had the Biscuits and Gravy - he ranted and raved about how good it was - I took a taste - and wished that is what I had gotten - whereas the Hash was OK, the Biscuits and Gravy was WAY OVER THE TOP GOOD -

Price was fair ($25 for breakfast for 2) - I would kill for the Gravy - - -

I would definitely eat here again - and would strongly recommend to others.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    71
    19
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Utah
Level Contributor
201 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Fun LITTLE Dive”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

This is a tiny little place but my daughter and I thought it was fun. I got the special of the day pumpkin pancakes with cream cheese butter and they where yummy. My daughter got the omlete which I thought was just ok and the potatos were just average. Honestly we also went to Zeus Cafe and it was better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank UtahMan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
162 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Fantastic Diners, Drive-ins & Dives Spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2013

We stopped by Byways on a recent trip to Portland for a beer festival, we like to hit up all of the Diners, Drive-ins & Dives spots when we travel. The service was spectacular and the food was served in huge portions and amazing. We had the French toast and the biscuits & gravy, both were outstanding.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank robbiefitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hayward, California
Level Contributor
377 reviews
223 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Come with an empty stomach. Leave happy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2013

An old fashioned diner decorated with collectibles along the walls.

Our Ghiradelli hot chocolate was microwaved served in a large mug.

The Special – Pork sausage with gravy, mushrooms, onions and home fries – bit burned fries
The Alamo - Eggs, avocado, bell pepper, jack cheese, salsa and sour crème

This was our fuel for our hike around Council Crest Park to Marquam Nature Park.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Flounder B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heemstede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“You must visit this Cafe for breakfast!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

The food was great, the decoration was fun, the service was good. And even the waiting line was fun, due to the friendly people waiting with us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FromHollandLoveUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Byways Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Byways Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing