We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Put a smile on my face”

Marrakesh Moroccan Restaurant
Ranked #274 of 4,293 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $30
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Northwest District
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Put a smile on my face”
Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

Exceeded expectations. $20 dor soup, salad, appetizer, entree, and dessert with tea. Food quality - wonderful. Atmosphere - i felt like I was in North Africa. Quantity - waay more than I needed. And , what interesting and unusual food! Can't wait to do it again. The service was excellent. Everyone here was having a good time; kneel on the cushions, eat with your hands, and have a blast.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mohamed I, Owner at Marrakesh Moroccan Restaurant, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Thanks very much for your review and especially visiting with us! We are very glad you enjoyed yourself and loved the food and atmosphere. We hope to see you again soon. Cheers!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    56
    31
    6
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“so much fun!”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

I can't wait to come back and bring the kids! Lots of vegetarian choices, belling dancing, lots of happy diners...it was a very nice experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Laura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food and atmosphere, poor seating”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Marrakesh is an outstanding restaurant. Impossible NOT to find something on the menu to your liking. The atmosphere seems authentic, nice belly dancing entertainment. BUT: if you are older or suffer from back or joint problems, you may not appreciate the low pouf/cushion style seating. Also: be aware that all,parking is on-street and you may have to walk a block.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christi Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
72 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“My favorite restaurant in the world!”
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I discovered this place back in the early 90's when I lived in NW Portland. I have gone back for special occasions, dates, or whatever excuse that I could find whenever I had the chance. You really can't go wrong with an entrée selection. I have tried most of them. I usually go with one of the lamb dishes. The one with raisins is exceptional considering that I usually HATE raisins! Somehow they manage to make them palatable in that dish. I suggest making reservations early and to get there late enough in the evening for the belly dancers. That never gets old. I am trying to concoct an excuse right now to go.....

Helpful?
Thank SOBERCHERYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
134 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A MUST visit if you're in Portland!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

Found this little gem on a review on Trip Advisor and boy oh boy it didn't disappoint. We went on a Tuesday night, didn't make a reservation, but they found a table for us.

$18 for a delicious 5 course meal. Absolute bargain. The protocol is to eat with your hands but they can provide cutlery. We opted for the hand option. Original, delicious food and cracking value, I can't recommend it enough. The waiter explained each course to us, answered questions and was very polite and helpful.

The decor is beautiful, we sat on cushions on the floor. From the outside it doesn't look like much, but opening the doors and the place welcomes you into the wondrous cave of delicious smells and a charming atmosphere. Just fab.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cazerous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marrakesh Moroccan Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Marrakesh Moroccan Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing