We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh, flavorful, and quick dinners before or after the movie”
Review of La Buca

La Buca
Ranked #1,846 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $1 - $20
Cuisines: Italian
Restaurant details
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fresh, flavorful, and quick dinners before or after the movie”
Reviewed August 21, 2012

We discovered La Buca while searching for a quick bite before our movie at the nearby Laurelhurst Theatre. What a treat, and never a disappointment. The pasta dishes are quick and delicious...the pancetta and funghi is superb, as is the pasta with pesto--so pungent and fresh, the basil must be growing in the back. I was delighted with the modest prices and quick service when we mentioned we needed to get to our movie. Simple, dependable, and good.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    13
    4
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Surprisingly good Italian food. The salads and pasta were very tasty and fresh. Full of flavor! Perfect portions (not too much). Enjoyed our lunch seated outside on the sidewalk.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ORmommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“good simple predictable Italian”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

i was looking for something that was easy to understand and digest. sometimes I get tired of all the trendy blending of food and just want a good meal. I got it. Nothing pretentious. Good food. Nice price. No reservations needed. No wait!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank JulesfromIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hillsboro, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent, inexpensive, and east-side art”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

La Buca is our east-side cognate to the Pearl's Daily Cafe.
The cuisine is Italian with excellent sandwiches (which I usually get), and they feature a local artist each month, well-composed and executed (even if I don't like the subject material, it's intriguing).

I've had an entree for dinner, and they certainly don't skimp on the ingredients (some places go heavy on the pasta). The service has been generally pleasant and attentive without being overbearing, although less than the warmly personal touch we get many places.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank norcekri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good and inexpendsive”
Reviewed February 23, 2012

I regularly take friends and family to this spot when they visit from out of town. I took my mom here when she visited from Texas. I live fairly close to La Buca and enjoy lunch there. This is a good restaurant serving good food which isn't expensive. Cheers.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J-de-PDX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Buca also viewed

 

Been to La Buca? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing