We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Chinese Food In Portland”
Review of Seres Restaurant

Seres Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Seres Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #726 of 4,320 Restaurants in Portland
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: Pearl
Cross street: 11th and Lovejoy
Description: Seres Restaurant, formally Sungari Pearl is located in the Pearl District and has been serving the greater Portland area since 2003. Seres Restaurant features a modern Chinese menu with emphasis on purity. In addition to using organic produce whenever possible, Seres' dishes feature local ingredients such as Oregon's Painted Hills Natural Beef, local produce and beancurd from Portland's own OTA Tofu Company. No MSG or artificial additives are added to our dishes. Essentially, you will still find every traditional long-loved Chinese food like fried rice, potstickers or Kung Pao chicken at Seres, however with a lightness and purity that are not only delicious but important.
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
“Best Chinese Food In Portland”
Reviewed October 17, 2012

Recently while visiting friends and family in Portland we went to dinner as Seres Restaurant in the Pearl District. I have been to Seres (Sungari) several times in the past and have always had a great experience. The décor is very modern as well as comfortable. Having a full bar is a plus and even though I have not been there during "Happy Hour" I understand the menu items are excellent. The menu is very diverse and provides many choices for a large variety of people and their dining requirements. Especially the vegetarian and gluten free dishes. With a group of three or more you can order a variety of appetizers and entrées to please anyone. My favorites are crab spring rolls and pot stickers for appetizers, Mongolian Beef Lamb with Leeks, Scallops, Moo Shu Chicken, and Sungari Fried Rice. There are so many great dishes it is hard to pick. Service has always be very good. The staff are very friendly and attentive. Even when very busy they seem to be aware of your needs. I have traveled on business for many years and have very high standards for restaurants and service. Seres is at the top of the list for me.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    10
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed October 7, 2012

Food was fresh and very tasty. Lemon chicken and chicken with black bean sauce very good. Rice should be included with these dishes,not as an extra.
Would consider going back.

Helpful?
Thank niles02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunny S, Manager at Seres Restaurant, responded to this review, October 10, 2012
Thank you for coming in, we hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Town and Country, Missouri
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Tasty dinner”
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Nice variety of dishes and extensive wine list. Prices were reasonable and portions were large. Definitely would return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruthkred
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monroe, Washington
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent locally sourced Chinese food in overpriced pearl district”
Reviewed May 11, 2012

We were so excited to find a locally sourced, organic (ish), Chinese restaurant in Portland. Super good food that's a bit overpriced, but when you consider its location in the Pearl, it makes sense. The potstickers are awesome & the salt & pepper pork is out of this world!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank miss_b_OR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Nice and Fresh!”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

The restaurant is located in the Pearl District in the building with the "Go by Tram" sign above it!
It's nice an airy and gives a city street view. It offers a range of menu options as well as a Shochu cocktail list - which was original.
I had made reservations; We were welcomed and taken to a booth. Menus were offered and we chose cocktails - I had the Ginger Cure, " A delicious combination of jinro soju, ginger ale, and muddled ginger served over ice – smooth and refreshing" which it was!
We started with the Deep fried Lotus Root and Tofu Salad Rolls - both good, although there could have been a little less lettuce in the rolls - beautifully presented with a purple orchid
For the main course we had the Salt and Pepper Calamari - delicious and very flavorful, stir-fried bok choi and the Curry Lamb Claypot - this failed a little with a mish-mash of flavors and a little too spicy. Reminded me of a Japanese curry. Rice was extra at $2 a bowl. We had a Coconut Creme Brulee and a Chocolate Mousse - both good value. My partner had an a coffee Liqueur drink which complimented the desserts and ended the meal.
Our waiter was pleasant and wasn't over-bearing - overall very good service.

Price - Total was $96 including tip, two cocktails, two apertizers, Two main and accompanying dishes, two desserts and a Coffee Liqueur.
I wouldn't state that this is a Chinese Restuarant per se, rather rather an eclectic range of Asian Fusion. I think we will be back though. A very pleasant evening out!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PDXPortland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seres Restaurant also viewed

 
 

Been to Seres Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing