We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Special Occasions”
Review of Chart House

Chart House
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #89 of 4,343 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Westwood
Transit: Tri Met Line #65 X
Central Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“For Special Occasions”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We considered several restaurants around Portland to celebrate our 45th Anniversary, with a nice view being a major selection factor. Finally settled on The Chart House, as we had been there 3 years previously and it was a known entity, and the 10% AARP discount helped us decide. Such a fantastic view of all of Portland with Mt Hood standing high in the distance made for a memorable experience. The personalized celebratory menus added a nice touch.
I had the 3 course $30 special (with such excellent fish chowder and macadamia shrimp), while Sue had the grilled seafood platter and caesar salad, which kept the price reasonable at under $100. Her grilled salmon was superb, but her asparagus was sparse and poor, and if the crab cake had been more chunky she'd have allowed a 5-star rating.
Decor is a bit dated, but the view makes up for that. We'll be back.......

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reynoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

281 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    131
    82
    37
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Salem, Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Always worth the money”
Reviewed July 1, 2014

We have been going to the Chart House for more then nine years. Every time we go, one of the bussing staff, Mercedes, always recognizes us and comes over to say hello and how happy she is to see our family. We met her the first time when our oldest was just a few days old and we went there with some friends.

We went to the Chart House a few days after Father's Day to celebrate late. The menu always had the same wonderful selections of seafood, steaks, vegetable options, and great options for the kids.

We particularly love the Mango, Crab, Avocado Stack for an appetizer. There are many fresh fish options that can be prepared any way. The Lobster Bisque and Charthouse Chopped Salad are flavorful and don't disappoint. I had the Scallops with Wasabi mashed potatoes. My wife had a steak with shrimp topping. Our kids had some pasta and chicken fingers (they were not over done.) Don't forget to finish off with a Hot Lava Cake.

The food is always consistent. The valet parkers are fast, efficient, and we've never had any problems with having our cars parked here.

If you request a "view table," they will do their best to seat you right by the window (to tell the truth, it's really hard to get a bad view in this awesome restaurant. It's up high past OHSU and overlooks downtown. The nighttime views are STUNNING with all the city lights. If the winds are coming form the West you can see the planes landing at Portland International Airport way off in the distance (which the kids love). If it's a clear night you get a wonderful view of Mt. Hood and Mt. St. Helens.

The menu's are printed daily to feature the fresh seafood selections. If you are celebrating something special, tell them when you call to make your reservation and they will have special menu's printed just for you.

If you have younger children, ask for one of the tables on the upper level right next to the granite ledge (do this at reservation time). This way y'all can block in your kids when they are done eating and they will have a large surface to play with their toys or place their coloring books on. There is a large Native American Totem Pole outside which our kids always LOVE to go out and see.

The downstairs section has a full service bar with a fireplace, great views, and full menu service as well. It is a more relaxed, less formal area down there. We have always eaten in the main dining room with out kids so don't be afraid to take them.

You will see people dressed in every type of clothing but most people dress up some when there.

Become a View Points member and you will earn discount certificates towards other visits and preferential seating (at most locations). The card can be used at many different restaurants within the same parent company (rainforest cafe, Landry's restaurants, etc).

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dennis O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“More than just a pretty view!”
Reviewed June 22, 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the reviews for the Chart House, I expected an awesome view with a so-so dining experience. I was pleasantly surprised by our amazing dining experience. We went to celebrate our anniversary on a Sunday evening. The complimentary valet was appreciated. We were greeted immediately and could have been seated right away, but we decided to wait for a window table. We were offered the lounge downstairs while we waited the 15-25 minutes. We waited at a table with a view in the lounge and after no more than 15 minutes were escorted back upstairs to our table while the hostess carried up our drinks. What a breathtaking view! Absolutely picturesque scene of the mountains, river, and valley. We were given menus that had an anniversary wish printed on the top. It was a very nice personal touch. Our waitress, Tina, was fantastic. She was personable and helpful. There when we needed her, but not overbearing. We ordered four courses (including the must-have lava cake) and all were served perfectly spaced without any feeling of being rushed. The crab, mango, avocado stack and the caprese salad were both delicious. Our entrees (surf and turf and shrimp and artichoke linguini) were also wonderful. Tina even graciously took our picture. It was such a special anniversary celebration for us. We will definitely be back!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mshanti74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland Oregon
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Throwback to the 70's”
Reviewed June 18, 2014

We hadn't been to the Chart House for years. Maybe - like, maybe 10 or 12? Or more? And the place hasn't changed. There's something about the décor that makes me feel like I'm at my great-aunt's newly-decorated home that she was so proud of in the 1970's.
I honestly didn't have great expectations about the food -- but I was pleasantly surprised. Everything was pitch perfect. My husband and I had small orders of several things, and we admired and enjoyed each one. Another nice touch was our attentive and interesting waitress. We won't wait so long before the next time we plan a visit there.
P.S> -- I was very fond of my great aunt. This was a nice way to remember her.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Leslie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great Happy Hour”
Reviewed June 13, 2014

Went to happy hour at 4;00. Got a table at the window, what a awesome view of the river, trees, and Portland. Service was fast and very good. Our waiter was well informed and helpful. Finished happy hour with a slice of mud pie.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jaclynhope05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing