We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Memorable anniversary”
Review of Chart House

Chart House
Reserve with OpenTable
Chart House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #116 of 4,272 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Westwood
Transit: Tri Met Line #65 X
Hillsboro, OR
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Memorable anniversary”
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

Wife and I celebrated our anniversary here and left with zero complaints. From the moment we arrived, we were treated like royalty. We had the Callihan cut prime rib and it was amazing! The views of the city from our booth were breath taking. Our server was attentive and super friendly. The only constructive feedback I can give is maybe add the green vegetable side complimentary with the meal instead of a la carte. Thanks Chart House for making it a truly amazing experience for us!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Giants32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    122
    80
    37
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
72 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not just fabulous views, good food and good service.”
Reviewed July 20, 2013

Visiting PDX I tried to work from memory to return to a great Clam Chowder restaurant, so ended up at Chart House. Well memory did not serve correctly, as I had never been here before, but it turned out to be quite the happy accident. The restaurant's vibe, design, and superb view of the Columbia River Valley (I think!?!?!) all set us up for a lovely evening. From the hostess, to the server to all the employees... great service was clearly top of mind.

Food was beautifully prepared and tasted great... had great chowder, and a nicely composed salad Dinner companion order a fixed price dinner that came with dessert, but we were both to full to do anything with it.

The main dining room is upstairs, down stairs is a more informal bar and dining area, with a nice fireplace.

highly recommed

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CeeTeeCee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donald, Oregon
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nothing Special”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Stopped in on a early Saturday night for dinner. We chose to sit at the bar which we commonly do when it is just my wife and I. The bar was unoccupied and we had our choice of bar stools. The bartenders seamed rather busy but initially had prompt service. I ordered a steak and my wife had the lobster bisque and asparagus. We were served our food which was a slightly disappointing. My steak was tender and cooked as ordered but just didn't have any flavor. The lobster bisque was plain and was something that was never be ordered again. After being served our food the service was rather diminished and slow. This restaurant is just so-so and certainly nothing special. I seriously doubt that we return to eat at this place.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank whynot4382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“cold food”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

we went there for Mothers day eve and there was sooo many prom dates there the food was served cold and the service was terrible! They obviously over booked and made us pay the price

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dabio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“The worst restaurant experience in years”
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We arrived at the restaurant at 6:40 last evening. We had no reservations and were asked if immediate seating in the bar area would be OK. We agreed and were directed to a table next to the window. So far, so good. The server' Shannon appreared and told us that it was still Happy Hour so we ordered drinks and two items from the Happy Hour menu. They arrived in good time and so we decided to order dinner from the regular menu as Happy Hour was ending. We ordered a so called Callahan order of prime ribs - medium rare. A lady came by our table and explained that there were no more orders of medium rare and would we accept medium. We agreed and then the wheels came off. After several minutes a piece of gray meat appeared on a small plate with a dollop of mashed potatoes. This entree was priced at $34.00 and it appeared as though the meat was boiled. No beef color at all. It was tepid in temperature and almost inedible. Shannon was not to be found, so we ordered a take out box, paid the bill and left. Ou dog would not eat the Callahan cut. It is curious that at 7:15 the restaurant would be sold out of medium rare cuts. My feeling is that what we were served was from the back of the fridge and God knows how old. No more
Chart House.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank JagDriver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chart House also viewed

 

Been to Chart House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing