We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Need a special place to celebrate? Make it Ruth's Chris!!!!”

Ruth's Chris Steak House
Reserve with OpenTable
Ruth's Chris Steak House is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #110 of 4,249 Restaurants in Portland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $50 - $80
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene, Business meetings, Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighborhood: Downtown
Cross street: Taylor Street
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Need a special place to celebrate? Make it Ruth's Chris!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2013

Whenever my family wants to celebrate any occasion or simply have a special dinner, we make it Ruth's Chris. Every item on the menu is simply fantastic. Everyone in the family has their personal favorites. I personally love the onion and tomato salad (with fresh cut onions), the ribeye simply melts in your mouth, just thinking of a ribeye steak sizzling on the plate in front of me gets the juices going. If I have room for dessert, I make it the Ruth Chris Bread Pudding. They have other steaks available, and fish on the menu, a bunch of other salads and desserts. Just count on leaving full. I have gone to Ruth Chris for years and have never, I mean never, been disappointed. Enjoy, I know you will.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank William P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    147
    56
    30
    15
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
70 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very good steaks”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

The filet mignon was very good, the service was excellent, and the ambiance was very nice. I do wish that the dinners were not completely a la carte. For the prices that they charge for steaks and chops, I would prefer not to have to pay for a vegetable/potato. Other than that, very nice restaurant.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank SOBERCHERYL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
118 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“The steak is always good”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

As you would expect, they make a nice steak but I have had better elsewhere. Overall, this place is very expensive and the portions are huge. Unless you are a big eater there are better places to have a steak

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank terry_brent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Level Contributor
205 reviews
149 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Wonderful date night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I were given a gift card for Christmas and we finally decided to use it on Saturday night. I called for a reservation and we were given a 7:15 sitting. Parking can be at a premium in Portland but we used a nearby garage for $7 and walked a couple of blocks. RC offers valet parking for $9, which is not bad.
Hubby ordered the 16 oz ribeye special ($56) which came with a side big enough to share, salad and dessert. He couldn't even finish his steak which was cooked perfectly and super tender. I ordered the filet with seafood trio ($52) of a scallop, lobster tail and two prawns. Let me tell you folks, it was fork tender and delicious. The scallop was soooo good. I ordered green beans($9.50) as a separate side along with the mushrooms that came with my meal. Oh my! We could not eat it all and have a lunch for tomorrow. The dessert was a decadent cheesecake and chocolate truffles which we saved for tomorrow. I wanted to add that our food was piping hot and perfectly cooked to order ( and that's hard to do on medium-well.)

Our check was $132, which is spendy, but we were so pleased with the attentiveness of our server, Brandi and other staff as well as the quality of the food. Not for every day but fantastic date night!!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rrosepetal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
193 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Special night out place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013 via mobile

Food was excellent. Service was too. Only complaint was our drink order. Husband wanted to try a new gin but instead of telling him what they had when waitress asked the bartender, they just made it. Not a big deal but he wanted to decide about what the choices were. Cheesecake was amazing but make sure you split it. It is quite big! Coffee was a bit burnt tasting. But still the wait staff knows your last name and manager comes to each table throughout the night. Some tables he stood and talked with guests for awhile, almost like he knew them. Very personable. A good place for a special evening.

Helpful?
Thank katwave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Chris Steak House also viewed

 

Been to Ruth's Chris Steak House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing